Lets get physical, physical (get your mind out of the gutter)

I need to add Yoga to my goals on the side bar. I have always wanted to take up Yoga. I think that although the stretching may be hard, it would have a certain relaxing and releasing feel to it. So I have found a Yoga website (http://www.yogajournal.com/), that has various poses and it’s all free and wonderfully created, and I plan on visiting the website on a regular basis. What I mean is that, I am going to set myself up practicing at least one pose every evening, and learning at least 3 new poses a week. I hope that this is a realistic goal. If for some reason, any on you find that it is not, please let me know. I realize that at some point I will run out of poses, however, at that point I should have a solid repertoire built up.

Another thing I would like to add to the list is belly dancing. I would love to learn how to belly dance. A friend gave me a book on it once for Christmas. I thought it was a great idea. However, I am amazingly self conscious and do not wish to start this at home were Darren can see me and mock me. He wouldn’t openly mock me, oh no, he would ask me what I was doing and then give me this look. I am kind of used to the look by now, and he is kind of used to my quirks, but I am a little self conscious about my body. Therefore, I think I would like to find out if anywhere offers courses in it. That way I could get a professional to teach me.

Oh and I have always wanted to learn how to Kick box. Now only are you working your upper body, but your lower body as well. I think the pure adrenaline rush that I would get from it would be totally worth it. I believe there are a couple of schools here in Sudbury that offers kickboxing lessons. I will definitely have to look into it.

Another physical activity I have always wanted to take up is Celtic dancing. Though I have never fully committed to watching all of lord of the dance, I love the music, and the bits of it that I have scene are very inspirational. It requires a lot of leg muscles, and I do have those. I actually took it up once; however, I was terribly overbooked with school that I had to drop it.

I would also like to get back into swimming, and get my lifeguard course. I used to take swimming lessons as a child, and while I don’t have amazing upper body strength, I do have solid legs. The goal was to get my lifeguard course, however, various things stood in the way of me completing it. I took up other social activities, and I couldn’t do everything. However, it is definitely something I would like to get back into.

I also have plans to do more hiking this summer, and go canoeing. I love being outdoors, and I love the wilderness. Also, I think my dog would really enjoy it as well. I will need to buy some outdoors equipment, like clothing and shoes, and a life jacket for my dog. I don’t know if she can swim properly yet, but I wouldn’t want to lose her. I also need to buy a bike, because I want to go biking this summer.

So many plans and goals and so little time. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

