May Karma be with you… and various knitting projects

Monday morning started in a bang off jolly good way. Rory and I successfully managed to lock ourselves out this morning. Thankfully my parents have a spare set of keys and live a five minute adrenaline rush jog away. I was a little frustrated at the situation, but managed to laugh it off. I think it’s funny and was bound to happen at some point.

I have also done a little inner exploration into my time management skills, and would like to bitterly complain that I am missing about 30 hours in my week that are unaccountably sucked up by the time warp machine. If you have found these hours, please return them. I promise I will put them to good use.

Truly, I calculated the hours I use for various activities in my weeks and somehow the hours left over don’t seam to match the free time I actually have at the end of the week; there is a big gap of like 30 hours missing. I think it might be sucked up by the public transit system; my only way to consolidate this loss is to multitask this as my reading time.

Today I will present to you some of the creative projects I am working on right now. I think I will start a list on the side bar of the all creative projects I am working on. This wonderful idea I am stealing from this blog here. I also like how she has a list of things in her sidebar she has completed, and a list of blogs she likes. I think I might do the same. I love the organization and I also like the idea of being able to click through blogs of similar interest.

These are the socks I started this weekend. They are going to be my evening knit. Here are the details in regards to them.

Yarn: Palette 100% Peruvian Wool Fingering weight
Color: Rainforest Heather
Needles: DPN US size 1 (2.25 mm) 6” nickel plated Knit Picks
Pattern: Tilting Cable Socks (interweave knits, Winter 2007)
Started: February 3, 2008

This is a necklace that was absolutely gorgeous, but got sacrificed to a door handle at work. It was a little long, and is now beyond repair, but not salvation. I am going to attempt to make my own stitch markers out of it.

This is a scarf I started. I am torn between finishing the scarf in all of its monotony and dreaded yarn or sacrificing it to test various stitch patterns that inspire me out of my recently acquired brand spanking new stitch dictionaries. The pattern is so boring I want to gouge my eyes out. Further more I am not to found of the yarn. However, when I pulled it out today I was charmed by its simplicity. Plus I longed to finish at least one knitting project no matter how boring and mundane I found it to be. Maybe I can find Zen in knitting this. Your votes and opinions on the subject greatly appreciated.
Yarn: from Walmart, Red heart I believe, in some sort of turqoisy colour without a dye lot (I lost the ball band, and could care less) It is acrylic though.
Needles: Straights 4.5 MM
Pattern: Child’s winter scarf (out of Maran Illustrated Knitting and Crocheting)
I love the book, marvelous photographed pictures for beginners to start from. Good basics.
Started: Sometime in November I think 2007

I have some sewing projects I would like to get back to, but I will share those at a later date.

For now, may karma be with you.

P.S. I would like to give a shout out to the young gentleman (well really were around the same age I suppose) on the bus today. I know you will probably never stumble upon my blog ever, but thank you for holding the end of my duffle while I zipped it shut. It was a completely random act of kindness and so simple a task, he didn’t even think about it, he just reacted, yet I really appreciated it. I don’t think people say thanks often enough, even for the smallest gestures of kindness. So to you mystery stranger, whom I might see again on the bus, Thank You; it does not go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

