Happy Valentines Day

Valentines Day is about the people you love who surround you. Whether they are lovers, friends, family, or even pets, they have showered you with their love and helped to shape you into the person you are today. Love is not always easy; it is not always peaches and cream. Love can be tough, and love can be trying. But love is worth all obstacles. Please see the Yarn Harlots post on love.

I may not be rich, but I am wealthy in love. So here is a list of those who have helped me to become the person I am today and a few reasons why they are valued. I value them with much love, and great regard.

To Darren: you are the love of my life. I could not imagine a future without you in it. And while I may not always be peaches and cream to live with I appreciate your laid back calm and cool manner. Thank you for the inner peace and calm you have brought to me. You are my whole wheat bread. The little things are just as greatly appreciated as the big, as are the mundane and the romantic. I love that you are a musician, it is dead sexy.

To Roo Bear. Dog, you are unbelievable cute and quirky and I have gained many a good laughs either with you are at you. Sometimes you can be a bit annoying, but I love you anyways. You are nice and cuddly and while sometimes you are quite the talker I appreciate your company to no end. You give unconditional love and all you really want is a little attention, food, and lots of time outdoors. And more food.

To my Mom: She birthed me, which I hear is not an easy task. She also says that although she never really wanted kids, she loved me with such ferocity when they first put me in her arms. She says it was like a mama bears love. If I was lying on a train track and a train was coming not only would she jump in front of the train to stop it, she would honestly believe that she could. Over the years she has supported me in many endeavors, from skating lesson, to gymnastics, to drama, to college, to moving out on my own (well with Darren). She has given me the confidence and room to grow and become the person I am today. She has also been a good friend with excellent listening skills when I needed someone to just talk too and sort things out.

To my Dad: While he did not birth me he was there through the whole process and when I was delivered. All that talking to me in my mothers belly paid off. When I heard his voice I swiveled my little head around and recognized him. He took a more disciplinary approach to raising me, and while I did not always appreciate it at the time it has helped to make me a stronger person. I would not have been able to stand up and fight through those hard times had I not your love, support, and strong guidance. Thank you for being there for me dad, and helping to shape that tougher inner core that I now possess. I truly feel that I can weather any storm now.

My sister. She is my best friend and confident. We have weathered many a storm together. While we are both so similar in many aspects, we are both unique individuals with dramatic differences. I love her to pieces and would travel the ends of the world for her if she needed it.

To my Gramma: She is an amazing woman of great fortitude and strength. She helped raise me (babysat me during the day while my parents were at work) until she had to take care of my papa full time. And while I may not visit as often as I would like, I love you dearly and you mean a great deal to me.

To my Papa: even though you are not with us any longer, I still love you immensely. My earliest memories are of you, the smell of cucumbers remind me of your green house, and I can’t have hard boiled eggs without thinking of you in your rocker.

To my Aunts on my Mothers side of which there are three: They all have there own individual qualities that make them awesome to have as aunts. They are quirky and funny, and I can have a laugh with them… well mostly. They have showered me with love growing up and I have always had good times with them. They have also been there through a lot of big personal victories, like graduating from high school, and college, and seeing the plays I have been in.

To my Aunt and Uncle on my Dad’s side: While there are more than the two, there are the ones I am most familiar with. Thanks to my aunt for giving me a place to stay when I decided that I was a small town mouse and not a big city girl. And thank you to my uncle for all the Christmas Eve visits. I never really realized the tradition till I moved away and missed it.

To all of my cousins and other family members: Good times have always been spent together. Fond memories created that I will always cherish. Thanks for those moments’ guys; I think you are all cool stuff.

To my babysitter Memere: you were like a second grandmother to me and I will always remember you kindly and fondly. Thank you for treating me like one of your own.

To all my friends: You are all phenomenal. All hand picked for your special qualities. Some have been a shoulder to cry on and some have been friends to laugh with. Some have been friends to share secrets with and friends to have good times with. Others have been all of the above and others only some of the above, and others still have been even more (head out of the gutter). And even though I don’t spend as much time with you, I want you to know that I value our friendship and always think fondly of you. Thank you for showing me a world of possibilities and imagination.

3 thoughts on “Happy Valentines Day

  1. Julia: Sure enjoyed your breakdown of the people you love and why. I’m glad to be one of the Aunts that you enjoyed and are still enjoying. You are a very special person in my life. Aunt Shan xxxooo

Leave a Reply

