Found: Ironic Karma

So today, two things of importance happened before I even reached work, and was on a bus.  I take two busses to get to work in the morning, transferring downtown, so I am not sure if I can constitute this as irony, but the two things happened on the same bus, the last bus, the second bus, that gets me to work.  They really aren’t important, but amusing and quirky.  So I am going to share.

Both events happened while listening to my iPod, one I got to continue listening, the other I had to take out my earphones to have a conversation, and then continue to listen to my iPod. 

The first is in relation to my recent acquisition of some Britney Spears tunes for my iPod.  I had kind of gone on strike from listening to her as she had turned all pop and dance like, and I wasn’t really into that style of music.  But I needed that type of beat to put on my playlist tracks for gym music, so I acquired some Britney.  Also I find her 
Womanizer song to be really amusing.  Well, as I am listening away this song comes on.  Piece of Me.  Holy frig, it is hilarious and totally supports Darren’s theory that she is F**** with the media. 

Here are the lyrics for those of you who do not have acquiring abilities:

I’m Miss American Dream since I was 17
Don’t matter if I step on the scene
Or sneak away to the Philippines
There still gon’ be pictures of my derrière in the magazine
You want a piece of me?
You want a piece of me…

I’m Miss bad media karma
Another day another drama
Guess I can’t see no harm
In working and being a mama
And with a kid on my arm
I’m still an exceptional earner
You want a piece of me…

I’m Mrs. Lifestyles of the rich and famous
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Oh my God that Britney’s Shameless
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Extra! Extra! This just in
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. She’s too big, now she’s too thin
(You want a piece of me)

I’m Mrs. ‘You want a piece of me? ‘
Tryin’ and pissin’ me off
Well get in line with the paparazzi
Who’s flippin’ me off
Hopin’ I’ll resort to some havoc
End up settlin’ in court
Now are you sure you want a piece of me?
(You want a piece of me)

I’m Mrs. ‘Most likely to get on the TV for strippin’ on the streets’
When getting the groceries, now, for real…
Are you kidding me?
No wonder this panic in the industry
I mean, please, Do You want a piece of me…

I’m Mrs. Lifestyles of the rich and famous
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Oh my God that Britney’s Shameless
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Extra! Extra! This just in
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. She’s too big, now she’s too thin
(Do You want a piece of me)

I’m Miss American Dream since I was 17
Don’t matter if I step on the scene
Or sneak away to the Philippines
There still gon’ be pictures of my derrière in the magazine
You want a piece of me?
You want a piece, piece of me… (yeah)

You want a piece of me?

I’m Mrs. Lifestyles of the rich and famous
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Oh my God that Britney’s Shameless
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Extra! Extra! This just in
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. She’s too big, now she’s too thin
(You want a piece of me)

I’m Mrs. Lifestyles of the rich and famous
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Oh my God that Britney’s Shameless
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. Extra! Extra! This just in
(You want a piece of me)
I’m Mrs. She’s too big, now she’s too thin
(You want a piece of me)

Me ME ME ME
You want a piece of me…


The second item:  I was listening to the above aforementioned song, totally getting my giggles on for the morning at the irony of said song, and this guy starts talking to me.  Well I have these awesome ear buds in by Skull Candy with foamy tips that totally block out the rest of the crazies, so I can’t hear him.  I take them out, because you know it could be important.  Like the bus is on fire and we all must evacuate.  Instead he is pointing at the book I have in my hand casual slung over my.  Lamb, by Christopher Moore. 

Turns out the guy is a fan.  Practical Demon Keeping comes highly recommended.  Now this just totally supports this passage I stole from Chris’ website (follow linky goodness to see the whole passage):

“Readers have given my books credit for giving them new perspective on their spiritual lives, as well as opening their horizons to new and humorous ways to go about living their lives — Joys, all great joys, all flattering and humbling and profound, but my greatest joy, my most satisfied moments come when I read letters from people whose spouses have thrown them out of bed for laughing while reading my stuff.

(This second only to those people who write to say that they have embarrassed themselves on public transportation by laughing at my stuff. Sometimes I get the impression that my readers do little but ride busses and trains giggling like loons. Excellent!)”

Frigin! Right!  That is me, laughing my ass off on public transportation, and I found a similar junky on the bus today, who has the same addiction as I, Chris Moore.  Dig it!! 

All this before 8:00 in the am.  Good Karma.  Could only signal good events for the rest of the day.  Storm clouds go away, for I have good karma before 8:00 am in the morning on my side.  TAKE THAT CAYOTE!!!! 

On a side note, the dog will probably have pooped in the house from the leftovers she received last night.  That will certainly balance out the equation knowing my luck. 


P.S.  No balancing Karma as of yet, but life is full of surprises, I’m sure it’ll find me eventually.  

Leave a Reply

