Article | Sorry I haven’t written more & The anticipation for NaNoWriMo

Dear Blog:


So sorry about the radio silence. It is not that I haven’t been reading. It’s that I have been reading at a much slower pace. I hit a wall, kind of.


You see what happened is that I had an overly ambitious spurt at the library and consequently ordered a lot of books I wanted to read, but did not have all the time for. I have a rather large late fee waiting for me when I do finally show my face at the library, that might have to wait till January to be cleared up. So I am back to reading off of my shelf. Almost. I have one book to finish (hopefully tonight) with late fees on it, but that still needs finishing. See they started pilling up and rather than read what I felt like reading, I read what was due first and I hit a wall of “I don’t really feel motivated to read you.”


On top of that I haven’t had much reading time at work. I am have been super extra busy and working while eating my lunch and because I don’t want to lose my forward momentum by stopping and reading while at work (I find it hard to hit the work grove again when I wish I was reading), I have not been reading while at work. I have also been driving to work. With Cowboy laid off I now have access to the car every day, so I my bus reading time has stopped. I have however been listening to audio books when my iPod doesn’t inexplicably launch itself to another section of the book while in the middle of a scene.


Also, there is NaNo coming up in a few short days. So soon. And I have really been using my energy to focus on my story rather than get swept away in someone else’s. I want my characters to be in my head, rather than mimic someone else’s books. Not that their books aren’t good. They are. They are terrific. But my characters need the chance to be terrific on their own too, and not shadows of another masters.


That being said, I am incredibly excited for NaNo. I have cancelled on a few Halloween parties in favor of staying home and handing out candy and at midnight starting my book. I have given the reasoning of “I am broke”. Which I am. That is not a lie. But I also have counter motivation for my hermit like attitude. It’s just less understandable for those who don’t get NaNo, but do get financial issues.


Seriously dudes. Sunday. It is almost here. I will be writing 50 000 words in a month. Hopefully more. I have some phenomenal characters with several different POV’s and a death scene within the first couple of chapters. It doesn’t even bother me that I am going to kill of a character than I must make my audience love first. Not one bit. It is central to shaping an MC.


However, if I don’t keep myself suitably distracted, I might just vibrate (with enthusiasm) into a state of shock. So here are some things I am doing to pass the time and get ready for NaNo:

1) I am cleaning my house on Thursday or Friday (Saturday at the latest). I will most definitely slack on this throughout NaNo. I need to find the time somewhere. A clean house though makes me feel good. I can think better in a clean house. For some reason the dust and the dog hair gets to me. Plus all that random stuff lying around gets organized away.

2) Saturday (hopefully) I am going to start a jean quilt for a Christmas present. Now I am pretty sure the recipient doesn’t check out my blog so I really don’t have much to lose by mentioning it here, but all the same I won’t say who it is for. This will give me time to think about my characters while I work but also keep me from going batty.

3) I will be checking the mail religiously between now and Friday. I have two parcels I am eagerly anticipating. No Plot No Problem By: Chris Batty; and The Gathering Storm by: Robert Jordan/Brandon Sanderson. Really the second book might throw me through a loop. It may throw the cleaning/quilting off course. It will not however get in the way of NaNo. I am stronger willed that that (I hope). Plus The Wheel of Time is one of those series that really shaped me as both a reader and an aspiring author. Someday I will post a proper love affair to the Wheel of Time. Today is not one of those days.

4) I need to compile all of my instrumental music into one playlist. I will weed out the stuff that doesn’t work for me as I go. But for know – that is all I want/need of music. No lyrics to be distracted by jus the rise and fall of my muse.

5) Going to the gym. I have a weight loss/fitness goal I would love to fulfill before Christmas hits. Since going to the gym I have noticed a considerably increase in my stamina. Before a half hour cardio on an elliptical was rather hard to push through. The first couple of times I took group exercise classes I was dead after the first couple of songs. Now a half an hour cardio session is a walk in the park. Now in my work out classes I don’t start really feeling the strain till about half way through. I still feel the strain. That is the point. But it takes longer. I am rather proud of myself. Consequently I also sleep much better and don’t feel so exhausted after the gym. The first few weeks of classes all I wanted to do afterwards was go home and go to bed. Now I don’t feel dead. I wouldn’t say I am bursting with energy, but I know with NaNo I could still crank out my word count afterwards instead of just shrugging it off and going to sleep. I know I can manage both NaNo and fitness in November.

6) If I start getting on a regular schedule (like I had hoped) with blogging, I will also be able to up my practice for word count. Now I know admittedly at this point it is kind of hard to hit a regular schedule. I am eternally the one coming up with great ideas but never being able to fully pull through with them. I want to do a twice weekly posting. I was thinking a Sunday, Wednesday schedule. Sundays I can post my word count for the week. Wednesdays I can blather about hump day and how my stride is going. As I would like to be able to hopefully polish off what I have written and submit it in hopes of publishing I will most likely not be posting my story on my blog. I am however interested in it being critiqued and read, so if you are interested in helping in that aspect please feel free to e-mail me at jemuldoon(at)gmail(dot)com Replace what is in the brackets with the appropriate glyphs.


My question is to you: “How are you passing your time till NaNo?” or if not participating in Nano “How are you passing your November?


I have not told my employer about NaNo. I think he would be relatively cool/intrigued by it, as long as it doesn’t interfere with work. It has taken some time, but I have grown to like (and perhaps respect a little) the new boss. Traditionally I kind of resist authority figures. Has to do with how I was raised, but that is an issue for a very expensive therapist, in the mean time I take my therapy through books. But some people crack through my resistance. This new manager is one of them.


So this brings me to another few questions: “Who have you told about NaNo?” “Who have you not told?” and “Why?”

Later


P.S. This post comes in at approximately: 1 396 words. I am short by 271 words to meet a daily word count (1 667) for NaNo. Kind of gives you some perspective on what I am getting myself into eh?

Leave a Reply

