Article | NaNoWriMo Day 6 – The Geese is not the Gander

NaNoWriMo – Day 6


The Geese is not the Gander.


There seams to be this popular theme amongst the blogosphere that they are concerned that people who participate in NaNoWriMo will submit un-edited manuscripts come December 1.


Admittedly there are many people, who are hoping to get published. And there are many people who may be using NaNoWriMo for the great book idea they hope to sell. I am one of those people.


The problem arises, in that the posts in the blogosphere seam to be making rather huge generalization in regards to those who are writing for publishing. They seam to be mortified that we will submit without editing. That there are those out there that think that once December 1 hits, there books is ready for sale. I am not saying that there aren’t people out there like that. There probably is. But do not attack the organization based on the misconceptions of a rare igotistical few.


The majority know that NaNoWriMo is not about the final draft. It is about the first draft. About the rough hewn edges. About getting a lengthy piece of fiction that you can work with and that is malleable to form into that masterpiece.


I am not writing words for the sake of making word count (first, middle and last name), although the book will be quite lengthy. I am writing the story, no matter what length it must be. For me NaNoWriMo is about breaking down my barriers. It is about not letting the daily nuances get in the way to pursuing that dream. It is about no longer making excuses and just doing it. It is about not getting hung up on the opening scene because it is not perfect. It is about making it to the end of the story.


And after November, it is about going back. Adding the missed details. Reworking the crapy dialogue. Cutting the scenes that don’t flow with the story. Fixing those rather large plot wholes. It is about making it more coherent as a whole.


And after I have done all of that, it is about giving it to my Mom, to go through and point out all of those nuances again, until it is perfect.


Then and only then, is it about the query letter. And the agent search. And what market is best for my book.


I don’t plan on skipping the nitpicky stuff to get straight to the award. I won’t get the award, if the nitpicky stuff isn’t in order first. Heck back in high school had I handed in the first draft of any essay I know I would get an F. It was and will always be about reworking it until it is perfect in order to earn that A.


So ladies and gentlemen – this NaNoWriMo, for me, is about first draft inspiration, not final product selling.





Today there will be no Moxy and Ed direct link – however you can go and check it out here. I can’t get things to format properly today, and being frustrated about that is time I can spend on Novel instead.

Update: Yesterday was better than Day 4. But still not even the daily minimum. I left off in the middle of a scene I need to finish. Tonight’s goal is the end of the prologue. Which also means I have to come up with that children’s poem/nursery rhyme to fit in there. I think I am going to borrow from Ring Around the Rosy. After I learnt about its tragic meaning, I have always been fascinated by it. I am going to find words that can be chanted to that timing. It has a very eerie feel to it that I want to mimic.

Leave a Reply

