Article | NaNoWriMo Day 9 – Work Vs. Writing

NaNoWriMo Day 9


Work Vs. Writing – and other stuff.


21982 – that is the word count were I started dreaming about word counts. It especiall got weird that every time I hit my snooze button this morning it would give me another 2 000 words to my word count. I know I was half dreaming, but I was also half awake.


The bright side is that I have learnt if I had my choice of what to do for a day job I would invariably pick writing as opposed to what I do currently. I don’t want to bitch too much about my day job, because well I want to keep it for as long as I need it. But it is dead boring some days with people who freak out over little things, which in turn causes me to freak out and subsequently leads to a lot of stress and days were I feel like shit at work. Now I do have to be honest, not all days leave me stressed and feeling like shit, but they certainly don’t leave me stimulated the same way a good word count or a solidly hashed out scene in my writing does. Those are highs that I can thrive off of. Day job is currently offering the lows. Good balance. Non?


This weeks goals, are to not bother with the AM schedule unless I wake up before my alarm and it is after 5:30 in the morning. Then I will consider getting up and rocking out some words. I want to hit 30 000 in the next three days. Somehow I think this is possible. For some reason I get Remembrance day off at work, has something to do with head office and all of us getting the same holidays. Who am I to argue over a payed day off. For me it will be used as a word count day. To really get more familiar with way more of my characters.


I think it would be great for NaNoWriMo to have a set your own option for the adults. But it is only available for those who are aiming for more than 50 000 words. The default minimum will be 50 000. Mind you as this is my first year, I would have probably take the minimum. But now that I know that with a few good weekends, some healthy competition, and the permission to write crap, I can hit word counts. I like the permission to write crap part because it allows me to not self edit as I go. I can info dump all I want and it’s cool because it is only the first draft. This lets me work out the quirks of my world as I go, instead of feeling that I should have that all ironed out before I start.


P.S. I believe that butter from popcorn has fixed the scroll function on my mouse. Not a good theory but a plausible one.

Leave a Reply

