Article | The Year in Review and the Future Yet to Come

2009


The Negatives
This past year had been a trying year in many areas. There were financial difficulties and layoffs in my nuclear family and extended. But those challenges have simply taught us how to buckle down, pull together and get through this. I believe that we are all better stronger people for our trials, yet I sincerely hope that the new year doesn’t bring any new financial difficulties, as we are just about maxed out in that area.
The Positives
However their have also been some great big huge successes. I was cast in Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat as a wife. The production was a huge hit and great fun – reuniting with old friends and making new ones.
During some unexpected time off this summer we took a trip out west. Financially I regret this a little, as we spent money we didn’t really have, but the experience far outweighs the regret. I can now say I have been to both coasts. And honestly I think I like the east coast best.
I also got a rather huge jump start on my writing career by participating in NaNoWriMo. I simply can’t say enough wonderful things about the event, and sense of community it creates. Also, I got to meet an amazing bunch of local writers. Consequently I don’t feel like the only one paddling up river. It’s a good feeling.
And there is my blog… this blog and my old blog that was laid to rest. Through NaNoWriMo and Twitter I was able to garner four followers for my blog. While that may not seam like a lot to some, it’s a beginning for me, and I am very pleased with my tiny readership. They make me smile.
We managed to pull off Christmas even while tightening our belts. And I really enjoyed the downsizing. It was nice to not be overwhelmed and just receive a few items I could really enjoy, rather than be confused by shear mass. I loved everything I got this year, weather it be presents, money or your time. It all means a great deal to me.
Last but certainly not least, we adopted a new dog, Rosco. While sure this adds a few complications – babysitters, food costs, vet costs – I think he is well worth the hassle. It is sunshine times two at our house now.
Overall
See the positive far outweighs the negatives. Also I really don’t like getting too far into details with the negatives. Shit happens, move on. No sense in dwelling. Come up with a plan, follow through. Find your sunshine.
2010
Goals

  1. Weight Loss
  2. Writing
  3. Knitting
  4. Financial Stability
Weight Loss
I would like to lose about 30 pounds. Truth is if I hit 20 I will be satisfied. I am aiming to be on the lower side of my BMI as opposed to the high side I currently occupy. This will be achieved one little baby step at a time – walking dogs, going to the gym and healthy eating. To help achieve this goal I am setting a 3 pound a week weight loss goal, this way it isn’t overwhelming.
Writing
This is huge for me. What I am aiming for this year is to finish and edit my NaNoWriMo 2009 novel. Start and finish 2 other novels. Finish a Novella I have had brewing for awhile. Learn how to write a script by participating in Script Frenzy. And participating in NaNoWriMo again.
In order to achieve all of this I am setting myself a daily writing goal of 1000 words. I have also put up progress bars on my blog for the projects I am working on, which I will be updating on Sundays.
Fingers crossed – I would like to get some pieces out their. Start sending them out to publishers and agents and gathering my portfolio of rejections slips and hopefully that miraculous acceptance too.
Knitting
This is just a wee small tiny distraction. I don’t plan on becoming a huge successful knitting guru; I just want to be able to proficiently knit a pair of socks. I am going to tackle this by participating in the Knitting Winter Olympics this February (same time as the regular Olympics). Go check out the Yarn Harlots Blog for further information regarding this.
Financial Stability
This is a group effort and one that will be hardest to achieve. It depends on a great many things that are potentially out of my control. First I do not want to accumulate any more debt. So debt is going on a freeze. Secondly I want to chip away and get rid of approximately $2000 worth of debt (including interest) this year. That’s not all of it, but that is some of it, and some of it is better than nothing. I also want to manage to put aside $1000 into my emergency savings fund. The fact is there is only so much money coming in and I can only stretch it so far. So pending no major disasters this year, that is what I am aiming for.
Overall
I feel great things for 2010. Like this is my year. I can really rock this and go far. I have learnt a great deal over the past year, of what is possible given a little bit of ingenuity. My goals are achievable, and I honestly can’t wait to knock something off of my list. To feel the sense of victory that will push me onwards to achieving all of my goals.
It’s more than just luck, its effort. May you have the energy, ambition, and drive to apply the effort needed to your goals to achieve success in 2010.
Leave a Reply

