Article | Reading Goals for 2010

It has occurred to me with the coming of the New Year and setting resolutions that I had overlooked my reading habits. The fact is I read as much as I could last year. Sure there is room for some improvement, but I am not terribly disappointed in myself. So rather than make it a resolution, I am going to reaffirm my reading goals.

Reading Goals for 2010 – I would like to read 52 books this year. Why 52? Because there are 52 weeks in a year. Sometimes I can get through a book in a day or two, other times it takes me weeks if I really loath the material. I try not to ever quit on a book in hopes that it will redeem itself so I do push myself through the ones that drag. It will be awesome if I can reach more than that, but at the same time I don’t want to cut into my writing either.
I have a lot of high fantasy that I want to catch up on. There are also some new authors in the Romance genre I want to explore, and some young adult books that have caught my eye. I will also be reading books on writing this year, as I am trying to complete and edit my own manuscript.
For the beginning of 2010 though it is safe to say I will be attacking high fantasy with a vigor, as that is what I have collected on my bookshelf right now. When the books I have requested from the library start to pour in (romance and writing with a side helping of fantasy) we’ll switch on over.

Also, this year will be the year of books gifted to me rather than me purchasing my own books. It is not that I don’t think that buying books isn’t a worthwhile cause. Oh contraire. It is that I am on a severe budget. Also I have logicked it out as follows. Some of the books I want to read this year my library does not have. I could buy a copy of the book but then only I get to read it. Or I could get the library to buy it and multiple people could read it. Often times the library will buy several copies for various branches, so really I am helping the industry by recommending that the library buy it and helping myself by staying on budget. Also the more people who are exposed to an author the better. I love sharing the love when it comes to reading and the library is a masterful way of doing so. Plus if I really love the book, it gets added to my wish list and eventually ends up on my shelf. A win win all around.
……………………………………..
And for those of you who come for the pictures…
The above is New Years. The theme was the future… I chose to go 1920’s on edge. Black sequined dress with gold winged eye makeup and a bold cleopatra haircut died red. Lots of compliments for the night.
And this is two days after. Back home on January 3rd and cashing in some snoogle coupons. I read to them the opening of The Gathering Storm. Yup… Robert Jordan’s famous opening shared with the snooglers.
Leave a Reply

