Review | Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by: Jane Austen & Seth Grahame-Smith

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Really I should have known better. Simply putting Zombies in a Jane Austin book does not make a Jane Austin book any less a Jane Austin book.

For some reason I have it stuck in my head that given the right amount of time and the right frame of mind Jane Austin is an author for me. However, I can’t seam to find the time nor the right frame of mind. Truly it is not Jane’s fault.
This book took my awhile to plod through. I couldn’t seam to find the driving force necessary to pull me through this at full speed. Some complaints are that Seth Grahame-Smith disrespects the classic tale by inserting zombies and ninjas. I on the other hand think that it is a solid change and adds better motivation as per why the characters behave the way they do. Class restrictions be dammed, Zombies are far better motivation.
The book is still filled with the archaic turns of fraises that boggle the mind that people actually spoke like that. And that is perhaps what made it the most dragging. I was never truly able to associate with the characters as they were always held at arms distance by a narrative voice. We shall blame this on the original subject material.

Overall the Zombies and Ninjas livened up the novel and added a dash of humor and ridicule, however I still wouldn’t waste my time with this whether or not you like Jane Austin. If you don’t like her then you will be bored by the style, and if you do like her then you will be outraged by the differences.

Leave a Reply

