An Aside | My True Geek Confessions



Calling All Nerdblogs: What’s Your True Geek Confession?

jarjar
The Alert Nerd brain trust is pleased to announce another very special Mega-Blog Crossover Event…and YOU can be part of it.
In the grand tradition of last year’s amazing “What’s Your Scott and Jean?” Day, we present…

True Geek Confessions

The Date: February 17

The Background: Unpopular opinions: we all have them. Sometimes you stand alone in loving a super niche-y run of a popular comic book series (likeSarah and her Tefe Holland thing). Sometimes you’re the only person on the entire planet to ’ship a certain ’ship. Sometimes you simply Do Not Get a movie the rest of your geeky brethren is falling all over themselves about. And because a lot of fandom is about sharing loves and hates and communing with your fellow geeks, this can feel awfully lonely. But perhaps if we confess our most unpopular opinions for all the internet to see…well, we’ll feel just a little bit better.
Here’s what you do: On February 17, write up a blog post with your own True Geek Confession. Send your link to sarah AT alertnerd DOT com. We will add you to our master list blog post and you can link back to said post. It will be exciting and wonderful and will hopefully not provoke too many “die in a fire” type arguments.
My Confession:


Pippi Longstockings.


I love her. She is my hero.


I got to know her through her movies, and didn’t end up reading the books. This may have influenced how I viewed her. Also I was very young and didn’t know what cynical meant. I was open minded and inspired by her adventures.

She really did have, what I thought anyways, these amazing adventures, and she didn’t fit in with the norm, and was always in trouble with school, but damn me if I didn’t think she was the coolest kid on the block. I grew up with kind of red hair. Not flaming red, but enough to be an outcast for it. And here there was this girl with flaming red hair who wore it in two braids sticking out from the side of her head, and you know what, she had it made. She lived on her own. She had two really good friends. She was always having adventures. She was super strong and could lift a horse over her head. I learnt that sugar came in cubes from her movies. Her adventures as a pirate are part of the inspiration for why I wanted to grow up and be a pirate as a kid. I went out for Halloween one year as Pippi Longstocking Pirate. My mom braided my hair around a coat hanger, and when some teenagers asked her how she did it, she told them it was hair spray. I thought that was the wittiest thing I had ever heard, of course only after she had to explain it to me.

Pippi Longstocking, had well really neat longstockings. They were stripped and went up to her thighs. Of course as a kid I wasn’t into this kind of fashion thing, but looking back on it, she had some crazy awesome style. That girl marched to the beat of a completely different band, each instrument playing it’s own music.

Pippi Longstocking was brave and bold, and she was everything I wanted to be when I grew up. She had confidence and she wasn’t afraid of a challenge. Authority did not intimidate her, and she always tried to do right by her friends, who she dragged through her trouble. She was good times. I don’t know if I want to re-watch the movies, because I don’t want adult me ruining child me’s perspective on her. She’s perfect in my mind, and that is all I need. When the world gets tough, find your own path and don’t be afraid.

Leave a Reply

