Article| It’s Monday, What are you Reading & other updates

It’s Monday, What are you Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through A World Of Books to discuss what we are reading this week, as well as books completed the previous week. This will be my new Monday night routine, besides of course my writing meeting, I will check in with my reading goals too.

This Past Week:

Continued reading: Dragon Keeper by:  Robin Hobb

This Week:

Finish: Dragon Keeper by:  Robin Hobb
Start and Finish: Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by: Beth Fantasky
Finish: Nice Girls Don’t Live Forever by: Molly Harper

General/Personal Update:

Sorry for the blog hiatus this past week.  I have been keeping myself really busy with Cowboy now working out of town.  I have been doing this so I don’t feel the pinch of loneliness so much, but at night it comes back.  I am getting through and I think at the end up this we’ll be stronger for it, but in the mean time it’s a hard transition process.

I will be returning back to my regular day job on Thursday.  They hired back six others so they are receiving production.  They are also going to be having a health and safety audit on Monday so it is my job for Thursdays and Friday to get us ready for that.

I am feeling a little bland about the return to work.  I think a part of me was a) hoping to a never have to work again and just focus on my writing or b) to find something new or c) find the dream job for a day job, something that is exhilarating and pushes my creative buttons.  On the bright side of things it will be nice to have more money.  Within this next year we should be able to catapult ourselves out of debt.  That will be super nice.

As far as reading and writing goes I have been a slacker there too.  I just got chapter 3 of Sands polished today and ready to send off to my writers groups. I am setting a new goal for myself: a chapter a week.  I must write one new chapter a week.  I have been doing one a month, and it’s just not enough.  This new goal is extremely managable.  It would be like setting a goal of one new short story a week.  I know I can do more, but I am writing for quality now, not quantity.  So this will give me the opportunity to really edit as I go and make sure I polish it so it shines.

I have also been planning for Script Frenzy this April.  This excites me a lot. I don’t know quite what I want to write yet, but I am sure I’ll get it figured out.  I am the unofficial co-municipal liaison for my area.  We have been doing some severe brainstorming as far as how to promote this and the events that we will have.  April should be a really fun and intense month. I will also be using up a ton of gas as I will be going home in-between as much as possible in order to let my dogs out and feed them before the events.  I may have to enlist my next door neighbor (my uncle) to help me out in that regards.  He is a really nice man, but lonely so tends to take a lot of time to interact with him.  Good heart though.

And I just summed up my uncle like he was a character in a story.  May have to use that someday.

I really feel that with the writers groups my writing is improving.  I like to edit so I welcome their suggestions.  Also I have been looking at my work much more critically.  They have opened up my eyes to things I hadn’t previously been looking at closely with my writing.  I am trying to pay much more attention to what I am doing rather than just tossing words at a page.  They also bring up some really interesting questions, and hit the head of the nail when they confirm my suspicions I have of my own work.  They are awesome folk and I want to keep them forever and ever.  I also want to see us all do really well in the future as we chase careers as full time authors.

Sorry for the rambling.  It feels good though to get all of that down and out in words rather than floating around in my head.

P.S. Cowboy will be returning a week from this Wednesday for two weeks.  I am excited.

Must go walk dogs now.

3 thoughts on “Article| It’s Monday, What are you Reading & other updates

  1. Nise’ – I think I should be able to manage it. For some reason I do better with a rigorous schedule then I do with vast amounts of time stretched ahead of me.

    Bookjourney – Thanks. Hope you enjoy your reading too.

Leave a Reply

