Review | Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs by: Molly Harper

Book: Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs
Author: Molly Harper
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Pocket Star
Date Published: March 31 2009

Summary:

Once a devoted children’s librarian, Jane Jameson now works at a rundown occult bookstore. Once a regular gal, she’s now a vampire. And instead of a bride, she’s an eternal bridesmaid — which leads her to question where exactly her relationship with her irresistibly sexy sire, Gabriel, is headed. Mercurial, enigmatic, apparently commitment-phobic vampires are nothing if not hard to read. While Jane is trying to master undead dating, she is also donning the ugliest bridesmaid’s dress in history at her best friend Zeb’s Titanic-themed wedding. Between a freaked-out groom-to-be, his hostile werewolf in-laws, and Zeb’s mother, hell-bent on seeing Jane walk the aisle with Zeb, Jane’s got the feeling she’s just rearranging the proverbial deck chairs.

Meanwhile, Half Moon Hollow’s own Black Widow, Jane’s Grandma Ruthie, has met her match in her latest fiancé. He smells like bad cheese and has a suspicious history of dead spouses. But Jane’s biting her tongue. After all, would a nice girl really think she has a future with a vampire?

Why I read this book:

I picked up this book, and the subsequent books in this series, because of the Book Smugglers.  Also, I have a fascination with Vampires.  Upon hearing that this had southern humor vampire charm I was sold, having previously enjoyed the Sookie Stackhouse series for similar reasons.

Review/Reaction:

I didn’t laugh out loud.  I wanted to, but I didn’t.  The moments that had the potential to be funny, I was too aware of them, so it just seamed overdone to me.  There were funny moments, but I think if you aren’t expecting them they are easier to enjoy.  Also, I think they are culturally funny moments.  Southern living is a different type of living, and the constant meddling, while it is inherent in most parental situations, the denial of a child’s very nature was frustrating.

The start of every chapter has a blurb from the Guide to the Undead, this amused me.  It tied in with the theme for that chapter and upon reflection would make me smile.

I was starting to pick up on who the antagonist was by the middle of the book.  No one can be that sweet without having secret manipulative powers behind their intentions.  I think though I would have preferred to see her get dragged through trial and be stripped of her possessions and have a suiting punishment.  The humiliation to the antagonist would be soul crushing and funny for us.  However, then you run the risk of her coming back to bite you in the ass.  So it suited the situation that she got staked and Jane gets her possessions, killing two birds with one stone.  Evil is gone, Jane’s financial duress is sorted out.

This really was a getting to know you book.  Jane has plenty of snark, and sometimes I wish she would just turn it down a little and be honest with those around her.  Possibly though she uses the snark as her defense mechanism against those who would try and control her.  I get that.

Also, I could do with a little less tell and a little more show in these novels.  Always trekking around in Jane’s head and having her info dump on us a bit, slowed down the pace of the novel.  I’m not saying we didn’t need the information, but I think in some instances this could have been trimmed.

Final Thoughts:

Overall I really enjoyed this book.  If my reactions sound negative please don’t blame the book, it’s not its fault, at least not entirely.  I expected a lot from it, due to hype and need.  I needed something that this book couldn’t deliver at the time.  I was in a bit of a bitter place, and unfortunately this book was the target of those emotions.

It’s different from the Sookie books, as Jane is a vampire.  But also the humor is different two.  We get a lot of laughs out of Janes family and their denial.  I sure would like to throttle certain members of her family.

Rating: 7/10 Very Good

Leave a Reply

