Article| It’s Monday, What are you Reading & other updates

It’s Monday, What are you Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through A World Of Books to discuss what we are reading this week, as well as books completed the previous week.

Last Week:

Finished: Dragon Keeper by: Robin Hobb
Started & Finished: Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by: Beth Fantasky
Continued Reading: Nice Girls Don’t Live Forever by: Molly Harper

This Week:

Finish: Nice Girls Don’t Live Forever by: Molly Harper
Start and Finish: Blue Diablo by: Ann Aguirre
Start: Skin Game by: Ava Gray (aka Ann Aguirre)

General Update:

It turns out that I am notorious for setting goals and not getting to them.  Remember last week when I said I would write a chapter a week.  Yes well last week was the first week I failed.  My story keeps spinning in my head, mostly thought when I am in the car driving, or about to fall asleep.  Actually daylight hours where I am able to work on it are taken up by other tasks.

On the bright side of things I have an interview for tomorrow for an Administrative Assistant position or something like it in the International Devision at the local college.  What attracks me most to this job is the fact that my base wage is much much much higher than what I am currently earning, but that I work way less hours.  Yet somehow end up making more money a month. Not much, but enough to have a healthy book allowance. I could be shoveling monkey pooh, and I would be pleased as punch at this arrangement.  I am not, so it is even better.

Now this is not the original position I had applied with for them; this is something else they thought I might be interested in and qualified for.  I am trying to be flattered by this, and not disappointed that this might take me out of the running for the original position.  I think it really comes down to a fear of change.  Like is this change worth it?  Worth sacrificing the years of experience I have accumulated at my current job.  I am going to go for the interview, do my level best to charm the pants off of them, and then consider the offer that is presented to me.  So far I am landing on the side of yes, I will take it and sacrifice my current comfy day job for a change.  Change is good.  It shapes us.

Cowboy will be back in town as of Wednesday morning.  I need to drive out to our tiny little wee airport to go and rescue him from the canoe on wings.  He’ll be home for two weeks and this thrills me to no end.  I really miss him; his presence makes me a stronger more secure person. Also I must be aware that with him back in town, my reading time is cut, but my shenanigan time is upped.  A relatively fair trade all things considering.

I need to write up two one more book review, and three movie reviews.  I also really really need to get in the habit of pre-loading my posts on my wordpress and setting them to a timer to post.  This will make my life much much easier.  But who likes easy right?

This week, I will be posting up two book reviews on Tuesday, and Friday… leaving it a surprise of what I will be delivering to your heathen eyes (or not so heathen if you are so inclined).  I will be participating in Waiting on Wednesday.  And Thursday I will be participating in Booking Through Thursday.

Thanks y’all.  Hope you have an interesting week lined up as well.

Leave a Reply

