Nice Girls Don’t Live Forever by: Molly Harper


Book: Nice Girls Don’t Live Forever
Author: Molly Harper
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Pocket Star
Date Published: December 29, 2009

Summary:

Nothing sucks the romance out of world travel like a boyfriend who may or may not have broken up with you in a hotel room in Brussels. Jane Jameson’s sexy sire Gabriel has always been unpredictable, but the seductive, anonymous notes that await him at each stop of their international vacation, coupled with his evasive behavior over the past few months, finally push Jane onto the next flight home to Half Moon Hollow — alone, upset, and unsure whether Gabriel just ended their relationship without actually telling her.

Now the children’s-librarian-turned-vampire is reviving with plenty of Faux Type O, some TLC from her colorful friends and family, and her plans for a Brave New Jane. Step One: Get her newly renovated occult bookstore off the ground. Step Two: Support her best friend, Zeb, and his werewolf bride as they prepare for the impending birth of their baby…or litter. Step Three: Figure out who’s been sending her threatening letters, and how her hostile pen pal is tied to Gabriel. Because for this nice girl, surviving a broken heart is suddenly becoming a matter of life and undeath….

Why did I Read this:

I read this because it was the last book in the series.

Reaction/Review:

Here is my problem.  And this is my problem, and not the books problem.  I often times will pick up a book because it was excellent reviews.  Much the way we sometimes chose to go and see a movie.  And with those comes expectations.  I find I build my expectations of an item to be larger than what they can possibly achieve.  I read as though I am waiting for something to happen, and when it finally does it doesn’t feel like enough.  Consequently I am trying to give myself a little space with my reading.

This book was one of those books that I wanted more from it than it could deliver bassed on the reviews it had received and the level I had built it up to in my own mind.

Like the other two books, I found this one wondered a little with a lot of offshoot stories being told.  The main focus, her and Gabriel, was out of focus for much of the story.  I didn’t find there was much working towards a solution, until the ball literally was in her court and all hell hit the fan.  I guess perhaps it is in our nature to avoid problems and not deal with them until we absolutely must, but in story telling terms, this was uterly frustrating.  I do not like to wonder.  I want a focus.

I did however have a few laugh out loud moments.  I was at the gym on the bicycle reading away, and it kind of caught me off guard.  I think perhaps it was because I wasn’t focusing too heavily on the book , and just letting it be.  If you just accept the book for what it is, you may have a more enjoyable time with it.  But continuously looking for a focus and having high expectations lead me to be a wee bit disappointed.

Final Thoughts:

I enjoyed this book. But I did not love this book.  I will probably keep this author on my to follow list, but much in the same category that I place my romance authors in.  There if I need a light distraction, but not my main story telling meal course.  A light side dish as it were.

Rating: 6/10 (Good – Some Faults)

Leave a Reply

