It’s Monday, What are you Reading, & General Updates

It’s Monday, What are you Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through A World Of Books to discuss what we are reading this week, as well as books completed the previous week.

This past week:

Finished Listening to: A Monstrous Regiment of Women by: Laurie R King
Started Listening and Finished Listening to: A Letter Of Mary by: Laurie R King
Started Listening to: The Moore by: Laurie R King

This week:

Stopped Listening to: The Moore by: Laurie R King

Start reading: The Moore by: Laurie R King

Started: Bite Me by: Christopher Moore

Start: Kushiel’s Dart by: Jaqueline Carey

Explore: Various books on writing I have acquired from the library

Updates:

As you can see from the above I have quite the nifty list of reading materials this week.  I am going to try something I don’t normally like to do.  I am going to try reading more than one book at once.  Reading the book that most suites me at the time.  I am not sure how this will work, as I don’t normally work this way, but I am hoping against all odds it does.  And if it doesn’t then I’ll simply focus on one until I am done.

The reason I am giving up listening to Laurie R King’s Mary Russell series is because it is like eating a very rich, very well done four-course meal.  Satisfying yet bloating at the same time.  I am absolutely addicted and so thought that changing mediums might help. Although right now my ears are crying for the voice of Jenny Sterlin, the version of the Moore I have is from tape so the quality is leaving me cringing.  Once I get my finances in order I promise that these are books that will be purchased.  I just need to get money things sorted out first.  Either that or they are going on the Christmas list.

This past week has been challenging for me in various areas.  My journal has heard all about it, therefore you shall not.  I have found a super hero at work, who totally bailed me out of a tight place on Friday.  I have finished up with my arch nemesis the freezer file at the old work place.  My house is finally clean again to a point that I can stand it, as are my dogs (clean, but not as pleased about it as I am).

My writing room in the basement will get painted the following weekend (the one after the May long weekend), no matter what.  (well hopefully)  It is a no matter what if someone tells me more mudding needs to be done.  Because it does not.  I need to paint and buy book shelves and put them up and then buy books to fill those shelves.  That is all that needs to happen now in that room.  I will need to pick out a paint color and while I am at the whole painting thing I have a few other areas of the house I am thinking of conquering.

This past weekend was an all consuming time suck, but besides all the wee fun little me only things I wanted to get done, I pretty much conquered it all and kicked the weekends ass.  Seriously.  I am mighty pleased with myself.

I am looking forward to this week in a very positive manner, as I can definitely see myself getting a good grasp on it and not letting it get out of hand.  I feel like I am in a good place right now.  It is after all week two of Cowboy’s departure and this is the week where I start to come to terms with being alone again.  So begins the cycle of my life.

Leave a Reply

