Wicked Lovely by: Melissa Marr

Book: Wicked Lovely
Author: Melissa Marr
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Tegen Other
Date Published: May 31, 2007

Summary:

Rule #3: Don’t stare at invisible faeries.

Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty—especially if they learn of her Sight—and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don’t speak to invisible faeries.

Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don’t ever attract their attention.

But it’s too late. Keenan is the Summer King who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost—regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life;everything.

Faerie intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning 21st century faery tale.

Why I read this book:

I had seen this book slumming around in the same neighborhood as some of the Young Adult Urban Fantasy I am attracted to was kickin it in.  Except having recently been bitten by a really crappy series, it made me hesitant.  The cover was okay, but not appealing enough to elevate it. But in perusing the E-reader store Wicked Lovely was up for free grabs.  So I grabbed it. I figured for free, I’ll give it a try.

Reaction/Review:

This book was addictive.  I started reading it and absolutely plowed through it in a couple of days.  I also went in with a few preconceived notions about fairies that I was about to have completely turned on my head.  They are not sugar plums and fairy tales, but wicked creatures with the potential for evil, and obscure beauty.

I loved how the book didn’t turn out classic like.  With girl falling for guy, and giving up her entire existence because she is this magical one person who will save the universe and make the whole world peachy keen.  She fought it.  And when she finally conceded it was under her own terms.  I felt for these characters, their plights, and their woes.  I am still not a huge fan of Keenen. I think him a bit self centered and conceited, and I think he has a dark streak, that has not yet been completely revealed.  I like Ash, but I especially loved Seth.  This guy has a story to tell, and I am dying to hear it.

The world was rich.  Wicked Lovely is a perfect way of describing the fairy world.   Because it is both that, Wicked and Lovely.  Fairies are real, but they are not perfect.  There is a penchant for cruelty, and those who wish to lift the oppression.  The fairy courts are introduced in this novel, however I can see a world of possibility that has yet to be explored.

Final Thoughts:

I think the publisher did a wonderful job in promoting the newest release of the series:  Radiant Shadows.  Free Books do equal sales.  I now have all of her books on my e-reader including the short story collections she has contributed too.  I have just turned fangirl for Melissa Marr.

Rating: 9/10 (I was absolutely that pleased with it)

Leave a Reply

