Iron Man II

Synopsis:

With the world now aware of his dual life as the armored superhero Iron Man, billionaire inventor Tony Stark faces pressure from the government, the press, and the public to share his technology with the military. Unwilling to let go of his invention, Stark, along with Pepper Potts, and James “Rhodey” Rhodes at his side, must forge new alliances – and confront powerful enemies.

Why I watched this Movie:

I saw this movie because I saw the first, and it looked pretty kick ass.  What can I say, I like my sequels and I love my kick ass.

Reaction/Review:

What I absolutely loved about this movie was how they nailed character motivation.  Pepper was pissed off because in her situation she should be.  Tony Stark was reckless because in his situation he should be.  The bad guy, Ivan Vanko, was evil, because in his situation he should be.  Admittedly it might be a long time to hold a grudge, but it was still believable.  Idiot with the fake tanner, Justin Hammer, well his mightier than thow attitude was understandable in the fact that he was a jealous ass hole.

And then there was all the things that went boom.  I like me a good action sequence.  I especially like it if it makes sense to the story.  Rather than hey look at the special effects while we try to distract you from the fact that we have no clue were this is going story line wise and we aren’t even going to bother tying up all those loose threads we had previously woven into this fabric, because turns out they aren’t really going to work, but rather than go back and fix it and come up with a coherent plot, we give you special effects.  This movie was not like that. Special effects were both awesome and relative to the plot.  Score.

Onto the things I didn’t like.  In the movie trailers, Pepper kisses iron man’s helmet and then sends him out of a plane.  That looked like a really fun scene and I was sad to see it cut.  I understand that for the sake of the movie and the character motivations it would not have made sense.  I am happy that they made that executive decision to remove that scene.  I just wish I had never scene it in the first place and not be tempted by it.

Okay, and dude makes up his own elements, with large pipes, a ray of light and a triangle.  BAH!!!  I know what they needed to do, but really.  I totally did not buy their scientific principles at developing the thing.  Also the dad having pre-thought of this how many years ago, and now this dude would specifically need it for his specific problem??  What are the odds.  But all still viable within the realm of the world, just a wee bit suspect when perceived from the realm of our world.

Final Thoughts:

If you are looking for a good summer flick and a sequel that doesn’t disappoint than this is your movie.  I was thoroughly impressed by it.  It had a cohesive plot, decent character motivations and characterizations and action happened.  A pretty good summer movie if I do say so myself.

Rating: 8/10

P.S. For an old bad dude with tats, and bad teeth and weird hair Ivan Vanko played by Mickey Rourke was both absolutely awesome and perhaps a little hot.  Just saying is all.

Leave a Reply

