Waiting on Wednesday: Anna and the French Kiss By: Stephanie Perkins

Alright so last week I read a review for Paranormalcy (that I can’t find for the life of me now) that compared it to Buffy the Vampire Slayer and AND and AND and Gilmore Girls.  Two things I absolutely adore.  My two most favorite TV shows, kind of like ever (okay so I have other favorites, but come on those two really really rock) and I absolutely new I needed to pre-order Paranormalcy right this instant.  So of course I angsted about it first, and then decided I was going to order after exploring several options.  Amazon won because they actually are nice about delivering books not two weeks after the release date, and well me liking my free shipping decided that I needed to fill up my cart (I know you only get free shipping if you say it is okay to hold onto things and ship all at the same time, but so far Amazon has been nice and shipped things right away anyways, and so I have faith in them).  Now I freely admit I probably wouldn’t have gotten this book if it didn’t have Kiersten’s seal of approval.  But it totally did, and so I put it in the shopping cart.

Anna and the French Kiss by: Steaphanie Perkins

Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she’s less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris — until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? Stephanie Perkins keeps the romantic tension crackling and the attraction high in a debut guaranteed to make toes tingle and hearts melt.

Plus the author has the coolest blue streaks in her red hair.  That is seriously courageous and snazzy all at the same time.  The cover is cute, and it might just be the kind of read I need as I have been buried in the supernatural, perhaps re-exploring the natural might be a hole different kind of medicine.  Also I kind of like the idea of supporting debut authors (sorry I always feel a little hesitant as their is no previous track record to compare against – but I also will someday hopefully be a new debut author too, and would hope that others will take the same kind of chance on me as well).

Yes I know I bought a debut authors book based on the word of another debut author, the fact that their blogs are both awesome (particularly Kiersten’s) and that Stephanie has blue streaks in her hair.  In my world that is enough sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Anna and the French Kiss By: Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

