Robin Hood

Synopsis:

Oscar winner Russell Crowe stars as the legendary figure known by generations as Robin Hood, whose exploits have endured in popular mythology and ignited the imagination of those who share his spirit of adventure and righteousness. In 13th century England, Robin and his band of marauders confront corruption in a local village and lead an uprising against the crown that will forever alter the balance of world power. And whether thief or hero, one man from humble beginnings will become an eternal symbol of freedom for his people.

Robin Hood chronicles the life of an expert archer, previously interested only in self-preservation, from his service in King Richards army against the French. Upon Richards death, Robin travels to Nottingham, a town suffering from the corruption of a despotic sheriff and crippling taxation, where he falls for the spirited widow Lady Marian (Oscar winner Cate Blanchett), a woman skeptical of the identity and motivations of this crusader from the forest. Hoping to earn the hand of Maid Marian and salvage the village, Robin assembles a gang whose lethal mercenary skills are matched only by its appetite for life. Together, they begin preying on the indulgent upper class to correct injustices under the sheriff.

With their country weakened from decades of war, embattled from the ineffective rule of the new king and vulnerable to insurgencies from within and threats from afar, Robin and his men heed a call to ever greater adventure. This unlikeliest of heroes and his allies set off to protect their country from slipping into bloody civil war and return glory to England once more.

Why did I watch this Movie:

Old fashioned, cool costumes, kind of historic, medieval like fantasy = I am in.  Oh and it had Allan in it from Great Big Sea.  Totally tipped the scales for me.

Reaction/Review:

I went to go watch this with my dad, and he spent the entire movie trying to figure out the story line, as it didn’t match up with what he was familiar with.  I on the other hand watched it without trying to figure things out and just enjoyed. I laughed uproariously at parts, and my dad shushed me and I laughed some more.  It is not a deliberately funny movie, but there are funny moments.

I loved that Marion is older.  I love that Robin Hood poses as her husband, as her actual husband has died.  I liked how their relationship grew.  I liked that she was a strong women out of necessity, and that she knew how to get a job done.

The sidekicks were freaking amusing.  Little John and his love for large wenches.  Allan and his bard role, were good too but he is more of a man at arms who happens to also play an instrument.  And Friar Tuck.  When he had bees my dad, was disappointed because he thought he was supposed to be a wino.  I on the other hand knew without a doubt that their would be honey mead.

I hated the King.  He was a self riotous bastard.   And personally am happy with that too.  He plaid his role very very well.  I wanted to love him when he said he would give them their charter, and I almost did too.  But when he pulls that stunt at the end that too sung of his character.  I do like a good story where one can learn a lesson and change, but if that were the case then there would be no room for the sequel as I am sure one is planned.

Final Thoughts:

I know some reviewers have said that the story was bastardized.  That they took a good first script and then put it through the meet grinder.  Sure their were clunky sentences, but overall I think the story line fit together.  And I like what they have changed about the original classic.  I like that it explains how and why Robin Hood came to be.  Obviously there is room for a sequel but even if there never is a sequel, I am quite happy with what they did with this one.

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

