Fallen by: Lauren Kate

Book: Fallen
Author: Lauren Kate
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Date Published: Dec 8 2009

Summary:

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a page turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

Why did I read this Book:

I found the cover for the second book, and because of its pure sexy status, I was forced to have to read the first book, so I could then read the second book.  And also discovered that the first book too had an absolutely sexy cover.

Reaction/Review:

This story had a great Prologue.  I read the first pages of A Great and Terrible Beauty, and the Prologue to Fallen, and chose to read Fallen first due to the prologue. It had the right amount of forbidden love with a tragic ending to keep me reading. And then we were catapulted into the future.

So…. this book works on cliff hangers and withholding information.  But it isn’t done with much finesse.  So I found myself wanting to yell obscenities at it to get to the point.

Now I also loves me a good love story.  But I have to say this is not it.  Truly, I am sorry, but this did not grab me. I get the hole Bella Edward forbidden love thing, desire can’t be together kind of push her away deal.  But it just didn’t work for me in this book, because I am aware of that plot.  I have read it, fallen pray to it, and learnt my lesson.

I was more inclined to root for Cam by the end of the story instead of Lover Boy.  Cam has dark and mysterious working for him, and hello he is in a Band.  That totally ranks sexy for me.  (Cowboy is a bass player – go figure). Also he actually tries to woo her.  Now the dark rank bar thing, wasn’t too cool, but the picnic, hell yah!!!

Also, the friendships feel kind of shallow, and not well developed.  I think my major problem with this story was the lack of character arc.  I wanted one, and I didn’t really feel like one was delivered.  I don’t feel that the characters are any different from when they started.  So she found a boy who is an Angel, and it is totally déjà vu love song.  But she didn’t change as a person.

And at the end when we are finally maybe going to get answers, we get this pathetic claptrap about sorry honey we can’t tell you much or else you might die.  Just going to have to live in the dark.  Oh and one of your teachers has a plane and totally believes in this nonsense and is here to take you someplace safe and far away from the evil Cam, who comes to see you when you sleep and pronounce a truce with Lover Boy anyways.

Final Thoughts

The sad fact is I will probably read book 2 in hopes that Cam wins.  It’s like team Edward or Jacob.  Jacob all the way baby.  And I hope it plays out that way too!!

And when they tell you not to judge a book by the cover I may now be inclined to listen.  But chances are I probably will get burned by the sexy cover again.  I am a fool for a delicious cover.

Rating: 6/10            (seriously the cover and Cam are your bailouts.  Don’t let me down again)

Leave a Reply

