Write ahead to figure out what’s behind

So Monday night in bed I was reading The Lies of Locke Lamora, but I totally had scenes from Gangs of New York playing in my head too.  Specifically that scene where Leonardo Dicaprio and Cameron Diaz finally for real hookup in the book.  You know that scene where she swears she’ll bite him and every time he tries to go in for a kiss she tries, but then they finally end up passionately making out.  Yah that one.  Yum!!!!

And I am reading the Lies of Locke Lamora knowing perfectly well there are no hookup scenes.  Wich really kind of disappoints me a little, because I like the magic and passion of two people finally getting together (so I like my trash, whatever).  Anyways, I get this idea for a scene in my book bassed on the scene in Gangs of New York.

Instead of firing up the computer though I grab my notebook and a pen and start scribbling.  Except what comes out is a completely different scene.  Completely.  I wanted to start with the energy of a power struggle, and so I did, but by the time I got to the cast of characters it turns out I am writing another climactic scene in my own novel of who the final bad guy is that Vonix comes up against.

Here’s what I have discovered.

Sometimes you need to write ahead of yourself, so you can figure out what to write behind yourself.

Stay with me.  I am kind of stuck right now with where I am at in my Novel.  I know kind of where I want to go but not how to get there.  So I jumped forward and wrote a future scene.  And in writing that I was obviously missing the events leading up to it.  So I started filling in those blanks as I was writing the scene.  Now I know of other things that must happen, and I have some plot points to work towards and hammer out.  I know it is a weird kind of plotting.  But it’s something like starting with the ending of your book and working backwards in a how did I get there kind of way.

More than a little pleased with myself right now.

3 thoughts on “Write ahead to figure out what’s behind

  1. Cool epiphany!

    They are like Anchor points in your story. I’m imagining a suspension bridge strung between two anchors. The scene you just wrote is the anchor on the far side of the chasam.

  2. mmm….. Lies of Locke Lamora. One of my favorite books. One of my favorite characters. I like a hook up scene as much as the next person, but if Locke isn’t hooking up, it means he’s available. pining, but available. . .
    and, if you’ve read any of the blurbs for the new book, it doesn’t sound like Sabetha wants him back. so, that means he’s available!

    oh, um, back on topic. Nothing wrong with writing the scenes out of order. I’d think it would be easier to write a novel almost backwards, it’s easier because you already know where everyone needs to end up.

  3. And now I am itching to get back to that book. Damn. I had put it down because I couldn’t concentrate on it properly. Maybe I’ll leave it till after NaNoWriMo and let that be my treat. I just don’t have the attention span right now for a hardy read. I want to, but I don’t.

Leave a Reply

