Paranormalcy by: Kiersten White

Book: Paranormalcy
Author: Kiersten White
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Tween
Date Published: Aug 23 2010

Summary:

Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.

Why I Read This Book:

I admit that I had been crushing on this book hard core because the cover is made of sexy.

But I have also recently been bit in the ass with wanting a book so bad, and then reading it and having it be not what I wanted it to be and to live up to.  So I kind of put off reading this one.  Kind of put it off by a lot.

And I had just finished The Duff and wasn’t sure I could read another YA after that because I really really needed to get out of highschool mentality, but forced myself to start this book.

I know for a book I was so excited about I had to force myself to read it because I was scared it was going to disappoint me.

It so totally didn’t!!!!!!!  This book is made of bleeping awesome socks!!!!  And pink and sparkles and zebra print wrap around dressed (by the way I totally want that outfit!!!)

Reaction/Review:

Made of pink and glitter!!!

I get that Kiersten and Evie are not the same, but man is Kiersten’s blog voice reflective of her writing voice.  Made of awesome!!!!

So because of the hole Paranomalcy containment thing I had read about in regards to this book before picking it up, I kind of thought it would be a little Harry Potter esque working in the Ministry as an Auro or something.  And then I read a review that compared it to Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Gilmore Girls, like two of my most favorite shows ever!!!!

And the book is all of that, but more of its own too.  The dialogue not as quirky as Gilmore Girls, but fun.  The bag and tag not as gruff as Buffy, but still cool.  The Harry Potter, not as much magic, more of the scifi elements running on tech.  And all of this was uniquely the novels.  It grabbed these ideas and put us with this amazing protag who was both insecure yet remarkably perky and still vulnerable and quirky.  I loved Evie.  Loved her.

And the love interest.  Hello!!! Lend is so freaking cute.  I like how opposite they are in nature.  And really cannot wait to see more about this guy.  And the whole wearing the pimply teenage boy face, I so saw what he was going even if Evie didn’t grasp it right away.

And Roth so freaking criptic.  And I loved how she was all paranoid that Roth was trying to steal her soul in the beginning and how in the end that is so not it and kind of incredibly the opposite in so many ways.  I just wish he would give Evie some straight answers.  But if he did that he would really not be Roth.  So onwards with the cryptic.

Evie my dear girl.  How I heart her.  (by the way I totally was wearing pink PJ’s while reading the book)  She’s got the right amount of quirk to her.  Her longings for normal feel so real.  I love that she watches a show akin to Gossip Girls (even though I don’t watch anything like that), it made her very more real.   I almost wanted to snort at this quirk at first, but it really grounded Evie and her desires for normal, and how much she just wanted go experience teenage normalcy.  I loved Evies longing for a normal life.  The whole dating a normal boy thing (who turns out to be really not so normal), and the whole wanting a normal family (wich Lends family turns out to be really not so normal, but yay all the same).

I loved the does he like me/not like me questioning.  Oh my gosh he is holding my hand feeling.  This was all handled beautifully.

And I totally laughed out loud at this book.  Like more than once.  Like if I had to dog ear all the pages I would be ashamed of ever lending out my book in the quality it would be in.

I honestly can’t wait for the next installment in this series.  I know it is supposed to be a trilogy.  But to be perfectly honest if you wanted to right more about Evie like say for 10 or more books, I would so buy them all as long as they were just as awesome as this book.

Also I should totally mention the Monsters. I loved how she handled her paranormal bits.  The vamps and the mermaids specifically really rang true for me in a very unique way.

The one thing I totally did not get was why Evie had so much clearance at the Centre, especially after we find out about how Evie is ranked in the computer system of the Centre.  This really makes me question Raquel and her relationship even more, specifically what we do not know about Raquel.

Final Thoughts:

It was light and funny, and serious and grounded.  And quirky and unique, and familiar too.  It had the right blend of just about everything.

Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

