NaNoWriMo Day 9

Time for some hard truths everyone.  I love NaNoWriMo and I love being an ML, but man is it ever exhausting.  My day job this year is far more demanding than my day job last year.  Furthermore my life is way more full of writerly pursuits including blogs, and writing groups.

What this means is that I now fully understand and realize why the OLL will only accept ML’s who have done and won NaNoWriMo before.  You need a full understanding of what it is that you are getting yourself into as well be able to say, yes I do have the extra time and energy to put in the effort of being an ML.

I absolutely adore my Wrimos in my area, and being their ML makes me feel all shinny and glittery from the inside out.  But some days, like today for example, are long hard days for being an ML.  I’m starting to really understand that my ambition is probably a lot larger than what I am able to realistically accomplish.  Three write ins a week plus my regular writing meeting plus staying on top of the point system, plus keeping up daily ML things like checking in on the regional forum and staying involved.  It is exhausting.

Furthermore, I had this absolutely freaking brilliant idea yesterday for our Super Secret Location.  I emailed my co-ML and told her.  Little did I realize at the time, how much time and energy this would need to implement.   This is the type of idea you have before NaNoWriMo starts and you can iron out all the details then, instead of after NaNoWriMo starts and you’re trying to get caught up on your daily word counts.  However, this has not stopped me from continuing to move forward with this brilliant idea.

Would I trade this experience?  Absolutely not!!  Would I do this again next year? Absolutely yes!!   Will I have a better understanding of what I can and can’t do?  Yes.   Will that stop me from dreaming even bigger? Probably not.

 

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Day 9

  1. My hat goes off to you for the amount of work you put in to this. Your passion clearly shows through. Good for you! Happy writing and happy gathering Sudbury peoples together!

Leave a Reply

