It’s Monday, What are you reading & Update on writing

It’s Monday, What are you Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through A World Of Books to discuss what we are reading this week, as well as books completed the previous week.

Last little bit:

Read: If I Stay by: Gayle Foreman

Read: Anna and the French Kiss by: Stephanie Perkins

Started: Sun of Suns by: Karl Schroeder

Started: Before I fall by: Lauren Oliver

 

This Week:

Finish: Before I fall by: Lauren Oliver

Finish: Sun of Suns by: Karl Schroeder

Update :

December for me is my reading month.  I have way to much happening to get caught up on for Christmas, to be focusing full time on writing.  Also this gives me a bit of a break to focus more on the learning aspect of it.  Read some really good books and figure out what works and what doesn’t, and why.

My latest thing that I found I really need to work on in my writing are my characters.  I don’t know them.  We’ll I do, some of them quite well, but my MC’s are usually a mystery to me, and its hard to write about them without making them me on paper.  I want them to be them, but since they are being very tightlipped, I portray myself in the place till they speak up and say no dummy, I would never listen to that crappie music you like, what where you thinking?

I have also fallen in love with Contemporary YA.  I read Gayle Foreman If I Stay, and cried the entire way, very moving.  Then I read Ann and the French Kiss, and fell absolutely in love.  I just wondered upstairs in the library to hunt down some books that were recommended by Stephanie Perkins on her website.

Honest to goodness I had been avoiding contemporary, because either I thought it was flat (because it didn’t have all the sparkle of the mythological), or I thought it would be way to emotionally deep, and saddening.  Turns out I don’t mind emotionally deep as much as I thought I did.  Having that emotional connection to a book is actually what makes the reading go by that much faster, except then I suffer a wicked awesome reading hang over after.

Anyways, what really made me realize that my characters need work, was a combination of the emotional movement I felt while reading Anna and Stay, and several blog posts about characterization and plot.  If you don’t know what your character wants, you have no plot or conflict.  Find out what they want, then throw obstacles in their way to getting it.  Boy do those novels achieve that.  Me I achieve emo.

So December I will read good books and study them, and do writing exercises to get into the head of my MC.  Also I will try and read a few books on the craft of writing

P.S. Sorry for being so off schedule.  I thought that with NaNoWriMo, I would do a daily writing post, but that just didn’t work out.  Anyways, back to normal for us guys!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

