The Moor by: Laurie R King

Book: The Moor
Author: Laurie R. King
Genre: Mystery
Publishing details:
Mass Market Paperback, 400 pages
Published January 5th 1999 by Bantam

Summary:

Rumours of a ghostly carriage and a huge ‘devil dog’ on a moonlit moor lead Sherlock Holmes and his wife and sleuthing partner Mary Russell back to the eerie scene of one of his most celebrated cases. And when the body of tin miner Josiah Gorton is found surrounded by oversize paw prints, it looks as if the Hound of the Baskervilles has returned to haunt Dartmoor once more. Attempting to unravel the mystery, Holmes and Russell find themselves caught up in local legend, myth and folklore as a devilish pattern begins to develop against the backdrop of the dark, foreboding Devonshire moor. True to their expectations, events have a real-world explanation, but it is one that combines more wild emotion, surprise, and frightening suspense than any ghost story could.

Why I read this:

I listened to this on audiobook as I had a lot of driving to do by myself and needed some serious entertainment that made it all bearable.

Reaction/Review:

Coming back to Mary Rusell in audiobook form is like going for tea at a good friends house who you should visit more but don’t, but not visiting more means that when you do, it is all the more bittersweet.

It was so nice to be read to. And it was so comforting having it be this old friend.  The voice was rich, the story intriguing.  Except I totally new who was behind the incidents before it was revealed.   I am not one for putting clues together, I am just wait to oblivious for that, you have to hand it to me on a silver platter.  But picking out a feeling of what is going on and using my gut, I can do that. And I new from the moment they whent to dinner for the first time at the gentlemen’s place that something was off and that he was it.

However, even knowing that I was delighted to get to the end and be right.  Have my suspicious confirmed.  The problem is though that this was the only gun on the mantle so to say.  You don’t go about introducing a character like that for filler and then not use them. No if you are going to spend that kind of time with them, and not with anyone else substantially in the book like that then they must be involved somehow.

I am not quite sure I could analyze the growth of the relationship between Holmes and Mary.  I think they are comfortable with each other.  They both understand who they are as individuals and what they are as a team and work both competently at both and respect each other.  I love the respect they have for each other, without either or trying to drown the other.  Very refreshing.  I think if either one of them had not found the other in life, that neither one of them would be meant for marriage.  They are both severely independent and at that time of age, a spouse would not understand them and therefore would be unable to adjust to them.   They were quite literally meant for each other.

I also just love listening to the way that Laurier R King constructs a sentence.  It’s like rich chocolate rolling around on my taste buds.  I could just listen to sentence after sentence without the story going anywhere and still feel vastly entertained and richer in knowledge.

Final Thoughts:

While I don’t feel as though this novel explores any great new territory, I still feel as though it is a solid investment of both your time and money in the great drive for entertainment.  A warm cackling fire and a glass of rich red wine could only enhance the experience.

Rating: 8/10

 

Leave a Reply

