Waiting on Wednesday; Darkest Mercy by: Melissa Marr

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

I’m expecting a lot of this one to show its face to those of us who adore YA.

So a little personal history regarding me and YA.

I read Harry Potter when I was younger and adored it, but really it started off as MG then grew from there.  Afterwards I was pretty much a book snob with my head stuck in giant fantasy tombs.

Then once upon a time, a great author, like Robin Hobb mentioned the Twilight series on her blog.  Now with all the flack that Twilight has received you would think that this would not be a positive review, and reading between the lines I can see some things that might have tipped me off regarding the rest of the series, but what Robin Hobb pretty much said was that she could understand its appeal.  Trust me I am super paraphrasing at this time, so please do not pitch fork her, she is still one of my most favorite fantasy authors ever.  Anyways after reading that, my brain interpreted it as must read Twilight.  I read it and LOVED it at the time, but looking back my feelings have grown in a very different direction since then.

What Twilight did inspire in me is the desire to explore the YA market more.  So high ho I went looking to find more dramatic vampire books.  I tried the PC Cast and Kristin Cast series.  Holly Molly was that ever the wrong place for me.  So wrong.  The first book was okay, but when the consequential books followed a formulaic writing style and the books just kept getting on my every nerve as they bothered me on so many personal levels of why I will not read a book, well I almost gave up on YA.  Almost.  I was so very very hesitant to pick up any more YA because of that epic failure.

But then the Sony Reader store had a free trial to read the first Wicked Lovely book and I thought why not.  Free right.  Well this is why they are brilliant.  They offered me a free trial of a book that I absolutely fell in love with.  It helps too at the time that this was my first exposure to fairies in YA.  I haven’t read any other series with fairies in it because until this series is over, I don’t want it tainted by something either more awesome or less awesome.  I just want my love affair to continue.

Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series is why I am now a HUGE YA fan and have consequently given YA another chance.  (I have also given myself the permission not to love every book I read and be honest about it, this helps too.)

So without further ado here is my Waiting on Wednesday pick:

Darkest Mercy by: Melissa Marr

The Summer King is missing; the Dark Court is bleeding; and a stranger walks the streets of Huntsdale, his presence signifying the deaths of powerful fey.

Aislinn tends to the Summer Court, searching for her absent king and yearning for Seth. Torn between his new queen and his old love, Keenan works from afar to strengthen his court against the coming war. Donia longs for fiery passion even as she coolly readies the Winter Court for battle. And Seth, sworn brother of the Dark King and heir to the High Queen, is about to make a mistake that could cost his life.

Love, despair, and betrayal ignite the Faery Courts, and in the final conflict, some will win . . . and some will lose everything.

The thrilling conclusion to Melissa Marr’s New York Times bestselling Wicked Lovely series will leave readers breathless.

P.S. I should also mention that I didn’t first pick up this series because I totally thought the covers where very cheesy.  They have grown on me since then, but I would really love to see a break down of how they pertain to the book one of these days.

 

Leave a Reply

