Anna and The French Kiss by: Stephanie Perkins

Book: Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
Publishing details:
Hardcover, 372 pages
Published December 2nd 2010 by Dutton

Summary:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets Étienne St. Claire: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near-misses end with the French kiss Anna—and readers—have long awaited?

Why I read this book:

This book was picked up due to Kirsten White.   I had Kirsten pretty cover on my radar of books to read, and was following her blog and being hit in the head with enough mentions of Anna and the French Kiss, I decided this too must be put on my reading radar.

Reaction/Review:

This is a contemporary love story.  But it is more than that too.  It is about being out of your own skin in a new country, being an outsider learning how to fit in.  It is also about going home and finding out that you don’t really belong their anymore either.  I felt like at the end of this novel, I knew parts of Paris.  Like I could see the cobbled sidewalks, and point zero, and the small movie theatres.

The love story.  Anna has moved from America to Paris to go to her final year of high school.  Anna broke up with her boyfriend to come here, but also had this crush on a guy at the movie theatre she worked with, and they kind of had this moment before she left where she thought they might be together.  So she’s holding on to that.  However, while in Paris she totally is attracted to this guy called Etienne St. Clair.  Except he’s in a serious relationship.  So she tries to ignore those feelings and think of him as just a friend.

But there are these moments.   Moments when you know that they so like each other but are holding back.  And she keeps denying it, like no, no he doesn’t like me.  And she’s like I will lie to myself and pretend that I don’t like him too.  And when she realizes she is madly in love, it is a wonderful scene.  Like it felt like I was watching a movie unfold.

Also loved that Anna wanted to be a movie reviewer and that Etienne was totally in to history.  I loved these character quirks. It helped to flesh them out and make them more real, more human, each with their own interests.  Individuals.

This story isn’t just about two people in Paris falling in love.  It was about two people in Paris trying to not fall in love but failing at it.   But they were also people, and not just characters to manipulate in a story.  They were uniquely themselves.  And therefore two people I could really root for.

I also may have cried a little when on her birthday he bolts on her after they are practically having sex on the dance floor, because he’s been busted by his girlfriend’s roommate.  That is the moment where he should have come clean and been with Anna, because you know where that is going.  But he doesn’t.  And I understand why not.  I get the hole mother subplot and how that would effect you holding on to something even if it wasn’t good for you any more because it is easier than letting go when you don’t have the strength to deal with that extra drama.  And I understand Anna not being forceful during that time, and going for the friends thing because that is what he needs at that time.  BUT DUDE, as the reader, I just about threw a hissy fit having to wait it out further.

And finally finally, when things do work out.  Man is that one HOT scene.  LOVE IT!!!  Just saying.

Final Thoughts:

I read this book over a weekend, and when I was done I was seriously tempted to start back on page one again.  I just wasn’t ready for the story to end.  This book was fun, quick, beautiful, and smart.  I fell in love with the characters, and with Paris.  I also gave the book to my mom to read immediately.

Rating: 9/10

 

Leave a Reply

