Booking Through Thursday – Romance

What’s the most romantic book you’ve ever read?

(Mind you, I don’t mean the hard-core stuff you hide in plain wrappers under your mattress. I mean True Love, Romance, deeply emotional, heart-tugging, and all that stuff.)

And, secondly, did you like it? Is it your usual kind of reading, or did it take you by surprise?

The above question is from Booking Through Thursday.  My Repsonse below.

There are a lot of great books out there with cute little love stories wrapped inside of them.  For example I really enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss.  It has a certain sweetness and simplicity to it, that I really enjoyed.  I also really loved Paranormally and the quirky love story in that one too. 

But the story that took me most by surprise was Gayle Foreman’s If I Stay.   However, I must be honest, I loved that book on so many levels and was so deeply and emotionally intertwined with it, I find it hard to separate my love of the romantic aspect of the novel, and my love of the whole entire brilliant package, including the character’s relationship with her friends and family.

The part that truly resonates with me though in regards to the love story was at the end of the book.  When he told her if she staid he would let her go.  Even just writing it in summary like that squeezes at my heart.  It was so completely and utterly perfect, yet emotionally heart rendering I do not know how to further describe my relationship with this book.

Only that I am now going to go over and pre-order the sequel from Amazon.  Even though I liked to imagine my own fairy tale happily ever after ending to what happens after.  I need to know the truth (for a set of fictionally characters).

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Romance

Leave a Reply

