Before I Fall by: Lauren Oliver

Book: Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
Publishing details:

Hardcover, 470 pages
Published March 2nd 2010 by HarperCollins

Summary:

What if you had only one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all—looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12th should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it’s her last. The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. In fact, she re-lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she had ever imagined.

Why I read this book:

This book had been popping up in a few places and finally I picked it up at the same time I picked up Gayle’s If I stay.  I thought they where books in the same vein, but I couldn’t have had two completely opposite reactions.

Reaction/Review:

I just don’t think that I can give this an honest review.  I am so blindsided by its faults, I can’t see around them to point out the positive aspects of this novel.  I never go into a novel with the intentions of disliking it.  I ALWAYS want to LOVE the book I am reading. But I just couldn’t with this one.

I had read a few book reviews for this, and it was getting some pretty decent feed back.  But honestly to goodness I just fell in that camp that did not love this book.  I dragged myself through it.  Having to read the same day over and over again and watch her fuck it up in different ways each and every single time, just frustrated me.  She learns something about each day, then gets up and finds a completely new way to mess things up.

I don’t like the MC. I would hate her in real life.  And I get that this is about self discovery and how one can change things.  But I really just didn’t like her, like at all.

I did however like the guy who worked on the newspaper.  He sounded like a fun guy to be around.  I don’t know why he held out for her for so long, but dude if I was in that high school I would have hooked up with him in an instant.

And the whole seduce the teacher thing, it just came off as gross.  And if that’s what you are going for kudos for succeeding.  But I just found that that throughout the entire novel I had no where to turn to.  Nothing really for me to take solace in.  I just felt disgusted by most of it.

I also found the voice kind of bland, generic, commercial.  It just wasn’t a strong personality in the first place.  The character was more of a follower than anything, more concerned about maintaining her popularity than being true to herself.  I get that in the end it is about redemption.  I get that she makes the right choice.  But the getting to that point, well not really for me.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I can see what some people might really enjoy this book.  I get what it is trying to say.  I just didn’t feel that it was done in a way that I enjoyed.  I fall in that camp with Ana from the Book Smugglers in regards to this.  This book is just not for me.  Ana recently also gave up on Delirium too, which saddens me because this concept sounded good and I read the sample pages and I was hoping to give Lauren’s work another chance and find love.  Like I said, I always want to love a book, but I just couldn’t for this one.


4/10

 

Leave a Reply

