Lock And Key by: Sarah Dessen

Book: Lock and Key
Author: Sarah Dessen
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary

Summary:

After her mom vanished in a stench of drugs and alcohol, Ruby continued to live in the family house alone. Finally found out, the introspective teenager is sent to the luxurious home of her older sister, Cora, whom she hadn’t seen in ten years. Everything there seems unfamiliar, uncomfortable, and supremely weird: her fancy new room; her lavish new wardrobe; the exclusive private school where she never quite fits in. Most mysterious of all is Nate, the friendly boy next door who seems to have a deep secret of his own. Another subtle character-driven teen novel by Sarah Dessen, the author of Just Listen and That Summer.

Why I read this Book:

Twitter, though art my nemesis.  through a series of following various authors on twitter I stumbled upon Sarah Dessen’s twitter feed around the same time I randomly pulled her out of the library looking for more frawesome YA contemporary books, after having read Anna and the French Kiss.

Reaction/Review:

I am going to admit a really rather large truth to you.  I am not a huge fan of contemporary novels. I generally read for escapism so when books touch to strongly or closely to home, and make me examine the very things I am trying to avoid, well needless to say I don’t really like them as much as they deserve to be liked. And because contemporary is based so much so in the real world, I find it very hard not to make those real world comparisons while reading them.

This book is about learning to trust and letting people in.  It is a slow burn and covered some pretty deep issued.  Abandonment mostly.  And growing up in a household where you’re forced to be older than you have to be, protecting your parents from the outside world instead of the other way around.  This second issue is close to one of my own truths.  So this book needless to say was a bit of a hard read for me.

This was a slow burn, because breaking down those walls and letting people in is not an easy issue.  It’s not something that happens over night.  It is something that builds and slowly you let people seep in before you have figured out how to push them away.

About 2/3 of the way in she has this one extraordinarily shitty days where it is the pivotal point in turning her life around and realizing that the truths she believed are not the real truths or truths that are any good for her.  This was also the turning point in the book for me where I really had to know if she was going to be all right or not.

Final Thoughts:

I did not love this book, but I understood it.  This is all from a very personally perspective with this story.  I wish I could be one of those blogers who reads things and can analyze the book for their story elements and for what worked and what didn’t.  I keep trying to write more thoughtful reviews, ones that emulate the Book Smugglers more.  But I am not that kind of reader.  I take books into me and I read them from a personal standpoint.  So all of my reviews are going to be filtered through that same lens.  This book though did what it did and it did it well.  I can realize the talent of this book, realize why people love this author.  However, I am also able to honestly say that while I can see why others would love her books, this authors where are not for me.  They might however be for you.

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

