Across the Universe by: Beth Revis

Book: Across The Universe
Author: Beth Revis
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction

Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Why I Read This Book:

So I joined the 2011 debut author challenge and this was one of the books coming out this year that caught my attention.  Also the sexy double cover completely sold me on the concept that I needed this book NOW in hard cover!!!

Reaction/Review:

The story is told from first person alternating view points.  And while I would have thought this would have been more Amy’s story, by the end of the book it felt like more Elder’s story.

There are plot twists and turns around every corner.  This book is like taking all of society and putting in on a ship and seeing how many years in space it takes for them to come up with what kind of government system.  Dictatorship is what one.  I am all for shared health care and other social programs that enhance the quality of life for all, but poisoning the water system and brainwashing, not so much.  There is protecting the people and then there is taking away freedoms.  This was the later.

What I love though about having Amy revived as this provided the counter point for Elder to question the society he was being brought up in.  A sounding board for him to base questions against.  What I honestly don’t get though is why the frozens have not all been destroyed.  If they think that mono-ethnicity and control over the population is key to their survival then why would they keep alive so much diversity?  I know they are supposed to have valuable skills to help on the new planet but after 300 years in space their skills would certainly be outdated, especially with the new tech that has been developed on the ship already.

What I loved most about this book was how it got me thinking about society.  About if it was possible for us to end up like that someday.  And who would question their representation of the past if that where the truth?

The ending, I am not a huge fan of.  It felt like a lot of summing up without us actually experiencing the parts we should have.  As the audience I think we should have heard the speech that Elder gave the ship telling them the truth.  I wanted to see the reaction to that.  I think that the ending could have possibly been better executed.

There are so many questions that I would love to get the answers to.  I would love to see how Elder handles the ship now, and if he really does have the strength and confidence to be a better leader.  Amy – I want to see her become more her own person, and not just a sounding board for Elder.  Sure I love me a good love story, but I think in this case I want to see more independence.

Final Thoughts:

All in all, I am definitely looking forward to the rest of the series.  There is still lots of world building to still explore and secrets to unlock.  I am really quire curious to see where this goes.

Rating: 7/10

P.S.  Also I have some technical questions on being frozen and rejuvenated.  Like putting meet in the freezer even with the best package and precautions it still expires after awhile.  Would not the people on board the ship start doing the same, as the trip is past its due date?

P.P.S. I also have some questions in regards to the gas created by cow dung and being in space and renewable resources.

P.P.P.S. And questions regarding the engine being used to fly the ship.  My understanding of space is that once you launch something out there, it will just keep traveling until it meets resistance, so I don’t understand how the ship can slow down and needs an engine to propel them forward.

P.P.P.P.S.  As you can see I have a lot of questions regards the world building and I hope these issues are resolved in the rest of the series.  The thing with world-building is the more solid it is the more I am able to suspend my disbelief when the characters do something outrageous or they do through the odd curveball because everything else is SO solid!

Leave a Reply

