Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by: Louise Rennison

 

Book: Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging
Author: Lousie Rennison
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/HUMOUR!!!

 

Synopsis:

There are six things very wrong with my life:

1. I have one of those under-the-skin spots that will never come to a head but lurk in a red way for the next two years.

2. It is on my nose

3. I have a three-year-old sister who may have peed somewhere in my room.

4. In fourteen days the summer hols will be over and then it will be back to Stalag 14 and Oberfuhrer Frau Simpson and her bunch of sadistic teachers.

5. I am very ugly and need to go into an ugly home.

6. I went to a party dressed as a stuffed olive.

In this wildly funny journal of a year in the life of Georgia Nicolson, British author Louise Rennison has perfectly captured the soaring joys and bottomless angst of being a teenager. In the spirit of Bridget Jones’s Diary, this fresh, irreverent, and simply hilarious book will leave you laughing out loud. As Georgia would say, it’s “Fabbity fab fab!”

Why I read this Book:

Seriously, with a title like that how could you not?  It was vaguely on my radar, but then an agent I follow put out her wish list and she wanted books like that, and well then it was a MUST read NOW!!! sort of thing.

Reaction/Review:

This book was FUN!  Yes with Capitals.  So it’s told in journal format from the POV of this 14 year old British girl.  And it is mostly about getting guys.  And for anyone who has never been a 14 year old girl, you might not understand this book, but if you have it is spot on.  Parents just don’t get you, best friends who you have tiffs with, and a boy you are madly crushing over, and a certain obsession with kissing…. Um snoging.  The greatest thing about this book though was that although there was the people just don’t get me thing going on, it was not melodrama emo like.  It was still very fun to read.

I also loved the voice.  It could be just all the Briticisms in it, but this book was strongly in this characters head and how they thought and how they spoke.  Since I am not from Britain it was interesting to get acquainted with their vocabulary.  They do have a kind of dictionary in the back, but I liked trying to puzzle things out for myself.  Also the dictionary was done in the characters voice.  Wet – the definition refers back to the girl she strongly dislikes (the girlfriend of the boy she is crushing on).

And the cat!  ANGUS!!!  He is a wildebeest and he is a house cat and he hunts the next door neighbors poodle.  Need comic relief.  Insert Angus and you have success.

What I did not like.  Poo.  Any reference to her sister leaving it in her room or peeing in a corner.  This might have had to do with her being very blunt about her family life, but this could have been edited out.  This kind of made the character sound like to me, trailer trash who was untidy.  Not cool.

I’m on the fence about her actual appearance.  She hates her nose, which I can totally relate to.  But when her friends rated her she was around average from what I could tell.  How does she land the guy then?  Or any guy?  Did her friends rate her lower because they were jealous?  Because judging from her own evaluation of self, she is like most teenagers always picking on her flaws.  Also I got the ugly cover as it came from the library.  The newer released covers give a much better impression.  So this may have also skewed my perception of the main character.

Final Thoughts:

I would compare this novel to a blue cheese stuffed olive (kind of almost appropriate if you have read the book).  A quirky delicious snack, but too much leaves you feeling a bit done. If you want a good laugh and to get acquainted with some British slang, this is your novel.  Any girl who has ever been 14 can relate to this.  It was made of WIN and I will most definitely be picking up the rest of the series.

Rating: 7/10  (get rid of the poo and you would have an 8)

 

Leave a Reply

