Why I am giving up “It’s Monday, What are you Reading”

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

Sorry for the blog silence on Mondays.  Turns out I no longer want to participate in What I Am Reading.  I just don’t like being bound by a list.  I have way too many awesome books on my bookshelf to choose from to say what it is that I will be reading next.  It’s a bit easier when I am entrenched in a series to know what I am reading next, but when I finish a series, or a standalone book.  Well, no amount of logic and listing can determine what I will read next.

I mourn when I finish a series, dawdling onto the next book, because nothing will feel as complete again (I know it will eventually, but it’s like a breakup, I need to get over that heartsick feeling).  It’s even worse if I reach the end of what is currently in the series, knowing that there is more to come, but that I have to WAIT.  I can’t even emotionally reconcile with myself, but am instead left on this giant cliffhanger for never ending periods of time.

Therefore, you can easily see how I am an emotionally driven reading person. My next book choice is selected directly in relation to how I am feeling at the time.  I once tried to sit down and figure out something similar to a mathematical equation but in relation to what emotions I was feeling and how that led me to my next choice.  Emotions do not equal math.  Mostly it involves me staring at my bookshelf long and hard trying to determine if what I need is on it, or if it is at the library or a bookstore.

So without further ado, I am nuking the It’s Monday, What Are You Reading gig.  I will fill it with something regular eventually, but for now it’s going to be a free for all.  On writing, on life, on nothing and leave it blank?  It doesn’t really matter.  What does matter is now I am free to flutter my wings and read what I want when I want without a list dictating a guilt trip whenever I veer away from it.

Leave a Reply

