Where She Went by: Gayle Forman

Book: Where She Went
Author: Gayle Forman
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary

Synopsis:

It’s been three years since the devastating accident … three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Julliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I StayWhere She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

Why I Read This Book:

Had anyone properly informed me of what If I Stay was about, instead of just saying it was great and should be read, I might have known the foreshadowing that the synopsis held.  I might have put it back on the shelf and missed out on the experience of my steadfast rule of no heartbreak in books (I prefer me a happily ever after).  But this didn’t happen and I ended up reading If I Stay, and fell in love even with the tears pouring down my cheeks.  The book is so much more than sad, but the emotional sucker punch it drives is truly what drove it to my absolute favorite novel ever, not just for the year, but ever spot!

I wasn’t sure I could handle the sequel, but a bigger part of knew that I was going to try because I to had to know, where she went.

Reaction/Review:

This book hit me similarly to If I Stay, but the tears they weren’t as heart rendering.  They where present, but their was also this angry pulse of Adam.  I wanted so much for him to just shout and rant and rave and be frank and honest.  Yet I also knew that while reading this if he did, he would startle her away like a bird.

I absolutely loved this book. Loved it.  Every nuance, every tear that poured down my face, every minute of anger, of language, of Adams personality bleeding onto the page, it was astounding.  Their traipse across New York, the pulling in of his memories, the loss, the heartbreaking, the healing.  The pulse, the awkward pauses.  The please just say the truth, and then the holding back.  The relenting and saying the truth.  The pace.  The peace. Everything about this book I loved.

This book is hope at the end, with the potential for tragedy.  I’m not sure that Adam should place that much responsibility on Mia’s shoulders. But am I sucker for Epic Love?  Absofreakinglutely!  This is not my story, its theirs and it ends with such great hope, I can only hope I don’t have to read any more heart shattering tales of this duo.  However, their was a scene where he reconnects with his music before he reconnects with Mia in the way we want, that really gives me hope that the right decisions where made for the right reasons.  Please for the love of all that is holly, just let them live on in my mind like they are supposed to. Of course, Kim, the best friend, war photographer, she can have her own spin off adventure if necessary.

 Final Thoughts:

I don’t want to deconstruct it.  To go into all of the details.   I just want this perfect edged feeling to continue.  I want everyone to pick up these books.

Also I have lent my copy of If I Stay along with Where She Went to my mom, with the instructions to have the kleenex box handy but that she won’t regret the experience.  I truly hope that she loves it as much as I do.

Rating:  Perfect 10/10

Leave a Reply

