Cross my Heart and Hope to Spy by: Ally Carter

Book: Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy
Author: Ally Carter
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Spy Novel

Synopsis:

Cammie Morgan is back, and it’s clear that her life hasn’t calmed down since the events of I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You. At first, giddy anticipation is in the air. Gallagher Academy, Cammie’s elite spy school, is hosting a visit from the Ethan Frome Academy, a covert training center for boys. Soon after the boys’ arrival, though, everything goes dangerously awry when a series of security breaches are discovered at the academy. Worse yet, teenage agent-in-training Cammie is being blamed for the penetration. With the school’s top-secret status at risk, the Gallagher Girls have to work quickly to save their beloved school. Girl sleuths with nice asides on youthful crushes.

Why I read this Book:

Hello!!! Book of awesome series of awesomesuace, like duh I was totally going to read this!

Reaction/Review:

What I loved most about this book is that the plot for this make sense given what we have read in the first book.  It is the natural progression of things, and yet completely funny and about boys.

What I have noticed though is that the books tend to start off with a great hook, but then they meander a little in the beginning and then they find what they are supposed to be doing, and then its like a roller coaster full swing lots of stuff going on until the end.  It’s that lag through between hook and event though that had I not been reading it all in one day, might have allowed me to put the book down and forget about it.

By all means though once you read the book, getting to the end, their really isn’t anything forgettable about it.  It is made of wicked awesome fun and spy stuff.

I also like how we get to find out a bit more about her father.  It’s still this overarching thread that is penetrating through the story and I really like that.  What if?  What if he is still alive?  What did happen?  What if I could find him?  Who has that information?

And of course  Zach, and enigma wrapped in an enigma.  He appears indifferent and yet into Cammie all at the same time.  Jealous and conniving.  Yet somehow we end up liking him and wanting things to work out.

Final Thoughts:

There are lots of great little hints dipped into this book that are picked up later in the series.  And I really appreciate that from the author.  Her foreshadowing never feels heavy handed, it feels natural.  I love the voice, and even more I love the characters.  Also, super funny!

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

