Time Paradox of show don’t tell?

Show don’t tell.

Do you ever feel like a dog chasing its tail trying to follow this advice?  Like you get what they are saying but you’re not quite sure your executing it right. So you spend some time drawing attention to what you were trying to show by explaining it and thus creating a telling paradox to the show.

That’s where I’m at right now.  Kind of.  I’m writing and I’m trying to remember a million different things at once, and I can only hope that at some point this becomes instinct but right now I have to think about it.  Did I show that? Was that telling?

Other things I need to concentrate on:

  • Making sure I include sensory descriptions of my surroundings.
  • Talking heads.  Dialogue tags and appropriate reactions must be written.
  • Cliches, try to avoid them.  The standard easy imagery as well as clichés in my own writing, like gasping for breath and lip biting and staring at someone levelly while raising their chin.

What are your notes to self that you keep trying to remember as you write?

Do you just pick one to focus on are do you try to hold onto them all at once?

Words this week:

Project Total:

Leave a Reply

