Delirium by: Lauren Oliver

Book: Delirium
Author: Lauren Oliver
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia

Synopsis:

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

Why I Read this Book:

I had read Before I Fall and quite frankly was not impressed.  But at the time I had also read the first chapter provided on her blog for Delirium and it sounded really good.  So reading this was me giving the author a second chance.  I’m soooooo glad I did.

 Reaction/Review:

So I just have to say – what is it with me and books starting off slow.  No seriously?  This book took me awhile to get into.  But I’m glad I did.  I knew she was going to fall in love, but man did it take awhile to get there.  She totally fights it at first, totally.  But the payoff, so worth it.

There is a lot of wordy description in this book.  And I’m going to chalk it up to voice.  Lena is different, she doesn’t want to be, but she sees and feels the world, and this is heavily felt in the writing of this book.

Smell has the strongest sensory connection to memories, so when it was used at the beginning of the book in regards to Oranges and her memory of a funeral it was really well done.   I only wished it was used more in the description of the book.  Perhaps in the second book she will, to bring back memories of Alex.

And the falling in love part.  This was magical.  Does Lauren ever know how to write a kissing scene.  WOW.  The perfect amount of tension and description.  Their were two particular scenes were the characters could have had sex.  One I am positive they didn’t.  The other not so much.  I hope that they haven’t, because I think that it could have been written very beautifully, with all of the nervous tension going into the decision.  Mind you if they did and it was off-screen (which I don’t think happened) it could create some lovely consequences for book two or three?

World building – interesting.  All of the USA is on lockdown and cities are behind fences.  And it’s all for your own good – to protect you.  But when you see it in action it is kind of horrifying.  It’s like a society that caters to bullies.  How people are after they are cured it really sad, they are like pail shadows of themselves.

So when Lena falls in LOVE I was all fist pumpy and happy.  What I don’t understand though is the solution at the end.  I wonder why they didn’t find a way to circumvent the system and still live in Portland.  As circumventing has obviously been done before.  They could have aided the resistance so much more that way – in my humble opinion.

There were a few scratchy moments where things didn’t mesh.  A beach scene were she had removed her shoes, but then was in the water with her sneakers on.  A necklace left behind that if it were mine would have been taken.  I get why the author needed to have it where it was, but it didn’t seam practical.  Moments like these that drew me out of the story.  Not many, but a few.

Final Thoughts:

This book is like a Modern Day Dystopia version of Romeo and Juliet.  It was really really good if you like a forbidden romance with a fresh spin.  I am very excited for the sequel and can’t wait to see where it goes.  Their were characters left behind that I am anxious to get updates on and see how Lena’s decision has affected them. Also I assume this is about crashing the Dystopia society they are in, so I would really love to find out what the next step is.  How does one girl become the pivotal point of the resistance?  Butterfly effect anyone?

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

