Spaghetti Draft…

…also known as Draft 0 or the vomit draft in the writing community, has been completed for Cybe.

Thoughts in Random order:

  1. It is just shy of 50K.
  2. I found my ending.
  3. I need to go back and find the rest of my story and clean it up.
  4. I need to cull my list of characters
  5. In culling characters I will be knocking out some subplots
  6. Next Draft will be a complete re-write of everything.  I ‘might’ be able to save some material from this draft.
  7. I’m okay with the complete re-write. It needs to be done.
  8. I still love the idea.
  9. If I had to sum it up, I would tell you it is a Cyberpunk story about Amy, who in running away from her Mob boss father, and discovers she’s got great natural talents for tech.  There are also Zombies and a love story involved.
  10. 10. I think I need to get better at the one sentence pitch of my book.
  11. 11. I am going to be spending the next couple of weeks just rooting through the old draft to come up with a plan for the new one.
  12. 12. This too does not scare me.
  13. 13. Did I mention I am still in love with this idea?  If not more so now that I have a better idea of what will work plot wise and what won’t.
  14. 14. I plan on taking my time more with this draft.  Writing each scene with meaning, not just to get to the next scene.

List of inspirations (which will continue to grow):

  1. White Cat and Red Glove by Holly Black
  2. Divergent by: Veronica Roth
  3. Fountain of Age by Nancy Kress
  4. Possession by: Elana Johnson
  5. The Fifth Element
  6. One Republic
  7. Uglies by: Scott Westerfield

Love List for this Book (which will continue to grow):

  1. Purple Hair
  2. Blue Eyes
  3. Zombies
  4. Family ties
  5. Mob Bosses
  6. Future Tech

 

One thought on “Spaghetti Draft…

  1. Can I just say that although your one sentence pitch could certainly use a little polishing (I’d add a short descriptive of Amy) you’ve got me hooked to read this. So, go on and get it done. I’ll wait.

Leave a Reply

