In My Mailbox (2)

In My Mailbox, started by Kristi from The Story Siren is an awesome weekly meme to post what books we’ve received this week; whether it was sent for review from a publisher, purchased at a book store, borrowed from the library, or won from a giveaway.

So last Thursday I went shopping to get The Name of The Star by Maureen Johnson at my local Chapters.  To my demise it was not there.  😦 I will rectify this situation by ordering it eventually, but if you have scene my TBR pile you would understand that this is not an emergency. Yet.

I did however end up buying more books.  Because you can not send me into a bookstore and expect me to come out empty handed.  Tut tut.

 (this Picture courtesy of my Models Rosco and Rory.  Not easy to do.  It involved me standing on a chair and waving dog treats over their head while simultaneously trying to snap a picture. Please Pardon the blurry!)

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by: Michele Hodkin

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

I was on the fence about this book.  The cover was creepy (for me anyways) and I don’t do creepy.  I HATE being scared.  BUT I have heard some amazing buzz about this and then I saw the book trailer and went Swoon.  Sounds DRAMATIC! And looks incredibly SEXY!

Blood Red Road by: Moira Young

Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That’s fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when a monster sandstorm arrives, along with four cloaked horsemen, Saba’s world is shattered. Lugh is captured, and Saba embarks on an epic quest to get him back.

Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the world outside of desolate Silverlake, Saba is lost without Lugh to guide her. So perhaps the most surprising thing of all is what Saba learns about herself: she’s a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization.

Blood Red Road has a searing pace, a poetically minimal writing style, violent action, and an epic love story. Moira Young is one of the most promising and startling new voices in teen fiction.

This was another book for me I was on the fence about.  However it recently appeared on a fellow book blogers top 10 books they would re-read.  (I would link you to it, but I honestly can’t remember who it was and I follow a LOT of blogs)  Anyways it got an instant promotion to a must buy and put on my bookshelf to be read!

Wither Tights by: Louise Rennison 

Hilarious new series from Queen of Teen – laugh your tights off at the (VERY) amateur dramatic antics of Talullah and her bonkers mates. Boys, snogging and bad acting guaranteed!

Picture the scene: Dother Hall performing arts college somewhere Up North, surrounded by rolling dales, bearded cheesemaking villagers (male and female) and wildlife of the squirrely-type. On the whole, it’s not quite the showbiz experience Tallulah was expecting… but once her mates turn up and they start their ‘FAME! I’m gonna liiiiive foreeeeeever, I’m gonna fill my tiiiiights’ summer course things are bound to perk up. Especially when the boys arrive. (When DO the boys arrive?) Six weeks of parent-free freedom. BOY freedom. Freedom of expression… cos it’s the THEATRE dahling, theatre!!

The cover for this was stunning!  Honest to Goodness I couldn’t walk past it any longer without buying it.  I am an admitted theatre geek though so the synopsis totally drew me in.  Then today it clicked who the author was, and I loved Angus Thongs and Full Frontal Snoging.  This will definitely be a good pick me up read!

7 thoughts on “In My Mailbox (2)

  1. I got Blood Red Road from my library a few weeks back, and I’m still looking forward to reading it! And Mara Dyer just looks full of awesome.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog! I know I got a ton of books – I read really quickly and end up blowing through books way too fast. 😀

    Happy reading!

  2. I had BRR on my re-read list so it might have been me 🙂 Love that book! Stick with it even though it may be bumpy in the beginning getting used to the dialect.
    I can’t wait to read Mara Dyer either, and Withering Tights looks really fun. Enjoy all your new reads. Looking forward to your reviews!

Leave a Reply

