NaNoWriMo Day 7 – training wheels

I’m doing NaNoWriMo for the third time, and at no other time of the year am I ever as productive in my writing as I am with NaNoWriMo.  But I am also much more aware of my own writing than I was the first time I took the challenge.

I want my dialogue to be snappy and fun.

I want great scene descriptions.

I need to convey inner conflict as well as outer conflict.

And I need to do it all with balance.

It’s a tough act to manage.  However, as I was writing a scene I let the dialogue pump out, get the conversation out there.  I did what I was inspired to write.  Without stopping to think that I needed to add dialogue tags or stage directions.

However, afterwards I went through and put in the tags and the scene description and it kind of felt like it was all gelling.  If I had just had one or the other it would have felt lacking but together.  I really like it.

Sometimes this is the way we need to write.

Don’t be afraid to go with what is working for you and go back and add in the bits that will round it out after.  Drafting can be a lopsided practice.  You focus on your strengths and the information that needs to make its way to the page NOW.  But after, you get the opportunity to go in and balance it back out.

Shave off the heavy handed and put in more whimsical.  Add some scene description to go with the dialogue. Add some dialogue to go with the description.

But most off don’t worry about these weaknesses in your draft.  Your first draft is there to get you front point beginning to end.  You wear training wheels and wobble from side to side.  Don’t be afraid of needing the training wheels.  You can take them off later.

Leave a Reply

