What is it with the Male POV?

Okay so I recently read to different excerpts of scenes in novels done through male POV.  Note these books where written in female POV.

One was for 50 Shades of Grey – Christians’ POV for the first meeting/hardware store scene.

Second one was for Mara Dyer – the First time they meet in person – http://michellehodkin.blogspot.ca/2012/05/noah-and-maras-first-meeting-from-noahs.html 

I have to say I rather like the male POV.  When it is done right.  And by right, I mean in the way that I like it.  I find that there is a lot of raw tension and anger with male POV.  They are not afraid to swear, the can be a little detached, in that way that they are trying to escape.  It’s like being doused in a bucket of ice water.  And I rather like it. 

The wrong way is when they get all super Emo whinny, wally wally wally (like the Wee Free Men).  (except I like the Wee Free Men – it is a funny story.  I just think of them and their Wally Wally Wally when ever someone is complaining a lot.  It makes me laugh)

Other books that do it well: Where She Went by Gayle Foremen.  I was angry throughout most of this book but only because Adam was.  Talk about empathy in writing. 

So the thing I am doing with Paris Above is to have 3 POV’s.  The boy, the girl, and the evil bitch who is adorable and I love her.  I get the girls POV and the Evil Bitch, and I have an idea of the boy, but I really need to go back in and see how he is really feeling.  I think I may need to do some severe rewrites with more of his distance from society interjected in there, because currently he is reading like a shadow of my girl.  And we can’t have that. 

 Maybe he should curse more?  Is he that type?  I think he is intellectually superior to the boys of his age group, but kind of just wants to be accepted like them, because it’s lonely being the odd man out.  Except acting like a stupid guy just isn’t his thing either.  Sooo complicated. So maybe swearing it out of the picture.  Or maybe I have just been painting him to nice.  Maybe a little more darkness interjected in there.  Oh that would be fun!  Also I could do things with that for my plot twist.  Happy Sigh. 

Any other novels you enjoy the tension of for male POV?

Leave a Reply

