Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

Hemlock (Hemlock, #1)Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I haven’t really jumped on the werewolf bandwagon of books. Mostly because I rolled my eyes at them and thought of them as overrated and clichéd. I say this so you understand where I was coming from when I started reading this book.

That being said though something about Hemlock and the buzz caught my attention. Add to that and the author is Canadian (be still my little Canadian heart, I get strangely proud of these things) and that we had an awesome twitter convo. Thus I moved the book higher up on my TBR pile.

The book opens up the mystery of Amy’s death as led by her best friend Mac. A werewolf killed Amy. It isn’t until chapter 3 approximately that we find out that werewolves are common, and a disease well known in the US with internment camps for those of have caught it.

The first half of the book is the set up and backstory. We find out more about the US post werewolf reveal. The trackers. How Jason, Amy’s boyfriend has been coping, which is not at all. There is some tension between Mac and Kyle. It is quite like a chessboard being set up for the final nail biting end match.

At about the halfway point the book picks up so much momentum and speed that I recommend putting aside whatever you had planned for your day and just keep reading. My heart was in my throat and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. Literally. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED TO ME BEFORE!

This book was awesome and I really enjoyed it. It has pop culture references and even poked fun at itself a bit with the love triangle sub plot. The Character motivations where pretty good, and the information was well layered in.

And if you really want a thrill read this near Halloween!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

