New Shinnies and Openings and Such

So New SHINNIES!!!!!!! Below… further…

(which will be the last of the new pretties as I am on a budget.  Fear not great books, my mom is a wonderful woman who takes book lists as Christmas wish lists very seriously!)

So one of my favorite exercises is to open up a book and read ONLY the first page.  See which book grabs my attention and why.  Of course I will read ALL the books, eventually, but this gives a good sense of what grabs me right now!

Endlessly by Kiersten White

Last book in Trilogy of Paranormalcy (LOVE Evie as an MC.)

What grabbed me about the opening page:  the voice of Evie.  As ever spot on, with a touch of humour and sarcasm.

First line:  Here’s the thing about Dragon’s: I know absolutely nothing whatsoever about them.

My Thoughts: So then, I’m all like, DRAGONS??? What’s up?  I want to see some dragons.

Also the Dragon appears to either have a Scottish or Irish accent.  Nae, and wee are used in it’s dialogue.  I’m gonna lean towards Scottish.  WIN!!

Timepeice by Myra McEntire

 This is a follow up to Hourglass. Which was full of time travel, yummy boys, and Xmen super powers, and a secret society.  WIN!

NOTE TO SELF: read jacket copy first.  I did not and then was confused as I had forgotten that this would be in male POV instead of our previous female MC.  Which was confusing because I was wondering why she would want to make out with a girl in a cat suite when she had a boyfriend.  I am not against gay anything, but it wasn’t what was represented in the previous book.  Reading Jacket copy, solved that confusion.

First line: ‘Maybe getting drunk and dressing up like a pirate for the masquerade was a bad idea’.

My thoughts: I wanted to grow up and be a pirate.  End deal.

Then there is the girl in the cat suite and we are getting a solid dose of MALE hormones.  I like.  I always find it interesting being in a male POV as I struggle with that in my own writing.

First page ends with Cat suite girl calling boy out and laying down the lines.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

This is a debut author.  I try to when ordering books online to have at least one debut book in the pile.  I hope to be debut one day, so I try to support them as much as I can.  Also it is so delightful trying out new things.  This book as been receiving a lot of buz AND Veronica Roth blurbed it. Instant win for me!

First line: The Servants called them malenchki, little ghosts, because they were smallest and the youngest, and because they haunted the Duke’s house like giggling phantoms, darting in and out of rooms, hiding in cupboards and eavesdrop, sneaking into the kitchen to steal the last of the summer peaches.

My thoughts:  Malenchki.  This is obvisoulys a world building book where we will have to learn new things.  They do such a great job of describing what Malenchki is.  Next I wonder who ‘they’ are?  Also the writing feels kind of luxurious, very fantasy esque and while I don’t read as many fantasies any longer I still absolutely adore them.

Next it goes into describing who ‘they’ are.  A boy and a girl.  They describe the boy.  The girl gets this line ‘ The girl was different, and she knew it.’  That was what really hooked me.  Now I want to know why?

The first page ends with them huddled in a kitchen cabinet.

 FINAL THOUGHTS!

Okay, so I have not turned the page for any of these three books yet.  Based on what I have scene they all are interesting, but for there own right.  You get a great sense of voice in these openings.

That all being said, Endlessly is winning because it is the final book in the series.  I really really really want to know how it ends, and at the same time don’t because then it’s over.  It’s kind of a tug o war.  The thing that trumps all of those feelings though is I need a WIN and finishing a series will be that win for me this week!  I hope anyways.  It’s a personal thing, and reading is a personal thing.  There are factors outside of the book that influence why we read things.

Also a great thing about this exercise is to find help with writing great beginnings.  Take three books of your shelf and see why their beginning work for you.  Read only the first page or just the first chapter.  Set your own rules.  Then figure out how to spruce up your beginning.  Or don’t if you need to just reach the end and risk getting stuck in that first chapter loop of perfectionism.

 

 

Leave a Reply

