The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

The Book of Blood and ShadowThe Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was consumed via Audiobook. The thing for Audiobooks for me is that apparently I now have a type. I like female narrators that sound in the age range of the characters. I do not like narrators that do not sound the age of the character. I don’t like male narrators. I don’t like weird musical interludes that are supposed to add atmosphere but rather just date it for me.

That being said this was a great Audiobook. I love the narration and the inflections. They hit on all the high points of a good voice actor/actress.

I’ve heard this book compared to Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code. Now I haven’t read the book but I have seen the movie and based on that I would say that this YA version kicks Dan Brown’s ass. Mostly because of the character development is absolutely phenomenal.

This book has this poetic feel. The scenes are short and some of them are just breathtaking in how they read like (or are read to you) like poetry. Especially the romantic moments.

The pacing too is perfect, plenty of set up, get to know the characters and how they interact before we get into the meet of the chase. Once the death happens things go from world building (which totally matters at the end of the book) to what the F happened, to this whirlwind mystery with bad people chasing them. It is intense! And the stakes are high. No one is safe and people can die. I really appreciate that in a book.

And the ending, man does this book not hold its punches. There is a twist and a betrayal and the MC is a much bigger character than I am as I would have been all F it, they deserve to die.

Needless to say I was thoroughly impressed with this novel and will be putting this author on my must reads list!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

