How to knit a headband! Or how to avoid crochet

I designed my first headband.  It wasn’t an on purpose decision so much as a default decision.  My sister sent me a couple of pictures via email and said can you knit me these for my birthday.  And like the dear she is doesn’t quite know the difference between what a knitted and a crochet fabric looks like.  She is just learning how to knit, and lord love her, I totally need to buy her some good tools, so she gets supper addicted and not frustrated by crappie tools.  But the point is, what she sent me was a crocheted headband.  And if I was a better sister than I am, I might have learnt crochet for her.  I’m not.

107804984801036635_ml64dx6V_c (What she Wanted)

Instead I decided that I would design my own, after extensively searching Ravelry for something like what she wanted, and coming up short in the free patter variety section.  Yes I am one of those people, who don’t want to have to pay for a pattern when there are soooo many awesome free patters to choose from.  Also, ALSO, why would I pay for a pattern and then have to use my own supplies to print it out.  At least with books they come in these pretty glossy things with shiny pictures.  (shhh don’t mention the fact that I will photocopy the pattern so I can mark it up and knit it). 

Anyways, no free patterns.  None that would do.  So I have stich books.  Those where bought back in the day when I thought I would   become a Knitter, then didn’t.  Thank goodness for foresight.  It was like I bought them for this exact moment.  So there was much flipping through the books and little tabbies put on pages and then books piled on coffee table while I put off having to choose a pattern and design something, because I couldn’t just trust that it would work out if it had never been done before. 

Except that’s what I did.  I waited till like the week before it was due and cast on.   I picked up the knit purl book ignoring the pages bookmarked in the lace book and the cable book, because I didn’t want to complicate matters in such a short time span.  I picked the Stockinette Stitch Ridge Pattern.   Cast on 26 stitches with a size (insert needle here).  Realized the gauge was too tight for the look I was going for.  Picked out larger needles.  Cast on for 20.  Then got to work. 

Stockinette Stitch Ridge Patter:

1st Row (right side): Knit.

2nd Row: P1, *K2top; rep from * to last st, p1

3rd Row: K1, *knit into front and back of nest st; rep from * to last st, K1

4th Row: Purl

Repeat rows 1 through 4 however many times you desire!

Sizing went something like this:  Is this long enough, tries to wrap it around her own head.  10 inches to short.  Not long enough.  Pulls out measuring tape.  Measures own head. Realizes that I may have a larger head than sister.  Does not call sister.  Ignores measurements taken of own head. Continues to size by wrapping fabric around head for when it ‘feals’ long enough.

Once Fabric ‘feals’ long enough – Start Decreasing. (the decrease section will be sewn on top of the other end.  It is layered ON TOP.  So don’t start decreasing until the fabric will wrap fully around your head.)

And because this pattern had natural decreases already in it, I just skipped the increase step for a stitch on each side.  Brilliant?  No! 

Continued decreasing until only 10 stitches left.  Bind off.  Weave in ends. 

Almost done!!! Huzzah!!!

Next step: go to sister place and have here neal on the floor while you sit on her tall tall tall chairs.  Try not to stab her with pins as you pin the fabric around her head.  Ask her if it fits well enough.  Be told she wants it tighter.  Make it tighter.  Tighter is fine as it stretches out the stitches and shows the gaps between the decrease and increase row better.  Remove from her head. 

Sew it all up by layering the decrease section over the fabric. 

Added esthetically pleasing button with no actually purpose in life besides to look pretty. 

Let her keep my first ever all designed by me pattern.  But only after I took pictures and posted it to Ravelry. 

You’re welcome for the free pattern too, if you can decipher the instructions based on the above blather!

Now – I’m thinking of designing something else.  I don’t know what else yet, but the satisfaction in designing something is immense and makes me feel like it’s not as scary as I built it up to be and I am SUPERWOMAN who can conquer the world.  Or at least designing her own knitting patterns.

photo-2 What she got!!!

17 thoughts on “How to knit a headband! Or how to avoid crochet

  1. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put
    in penning this site. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content from
    you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal site now 😉

  2. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a thirty
    foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it
    with someone!

  3. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too excellent.
    I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and
    the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you
    still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read much
    more from you. This is really a great website.

  4. Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of
    a good platform.

  5. Hello! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the excellent work!

  6. Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity on your put up is just cool and that i can think you’re knowledgeable in this subject.

    Well along with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to keep up to date with imminent post.
    Thank you a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  7. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an shakiness over that you wish be delivering
    the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly
    again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this
    increase.

  8. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and
    you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here,
    certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

  9. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.

    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  10. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually recognize what
    you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also seek advice
    from my website =). We could have a link change contract
    among us

  11. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering
    the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  12. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post
    or vice-versa? My website goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and
    I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an email.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

