Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares

Dash & Lily's Book of DaresDash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I find it kind of fitting that I picked up this book of Dares right after Dare you To. Something about Dare’s being in the title really worked for me (also I got this book from Netgalley).
To be perfectly honest I don’t really know how to review this book. I am torn between it being addictive and finding it pretentious.

I liked the rotating POV’s of this book. This was the addictive part, because I really wanted to see how each of them would respond to the challenges and messages left in the red book of dares. It wasn’t so much as I DARE you to, but a challenge.

I found Dash to be pretentious. He felt like a jaded old man looking down his nose at life. Quite frankly I felt that he lacked any thing tender about himself. I think his journey throughout the book was supposed to be that we saw the less jaded aspects of him brought out by Lilly – this didn’t quite work out for me though.

Lilly I found to be such his opposite she came off as immature. Shrilly? It made her sound like she was still 6 years old. Throughout the book though I really did find that Lilly grew. She held on to certain aspects of her Lilly-ness but at the same time really started to push against her boundries to find out who she was thanks to the challenges of the notebook. I wonder though if she ever would have outside of that notebook?

And because these two characters only ever connect through this notebook, I have a hard time believing the ending. That they can exist outside of this crutch. Sure they had a magical larger than life evening together, but everything after that is just down hill.

Parts of this book kind of felt like a Dawson’s’ Creek episode where they are philosophizing about life. Kids trying to be grandeur than what they are. It made me wonder if this was a product of New York?

I kind of feel this is one of those books that you will either love or you will hate. You will either love Dash’s pretentious nature and the philosophizing throughout the book and Lilly’s naivety you will find charming, or all of those things will grate on your nerves endlessly.

Myself, I think I will sit on this one. I see the potential in it, and I did whip through it fast enough. I even enjoyed all of the secondary characters. Especially Mrs. Basil E Frank (I LOVED that book at a kid). Certain aspects of Lilly where charming, even though she was greatly naïve. And certain philosophizing from Dash’s perspective made me nod my head too. Is there an equivalent emotion to charming, but with New York grit? – because that is what I would call this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

