The Hundres Thousand Kingdomes by N.K. Jemisin

The Hundred Thousand KingdomsThe Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I first started listening to this audiobook a while back but couldn’t get into it. I decided to give it another try and was absolutely charmed by it.

First I love the narrator. She has such an entrancing voice. But there are times where she speaks so low that it was hard to hear her over other noises in the area. It’s like her voice reached a register you really really needed to concentrate on in order to pick up.

Also – the thing with audiobooks is that there are things you can do in text that don’t necessarily translate well to audiobook. For example in Shatter Me by Tehera Maffi, there is a lot of strike out text that really adds to the interpretation of the reading and the unreliability of the narrator that I found really fascinating. I just can’t fathom how this would translate well to an audiobook. Do you say strike that? How much as the reader are we supposed to understand was stricken?

What I want to say is that I think there was a thing happening in this book, 100 Thousand Kingdoms, where there where dual narrative openings of two people talking in one person’s head, that I didn’t pick up on till later in the book, almost near the end. Without having the visual context to queue me that this was happening the change in voice just wasn’t enough of a clue.

Another issue with audiobooks is that there are times when the narrator is thinking something but says something different and there doesn’t seam to be a clear definition between the two. It’s like, did they just say that? Why isn’t the other person reaction to that?

Anyways – onto what I thought of 100 Thousand Kingdoms! I found it interesting. I have been reading so much YA and haven’t been giving as much time to the high fantasies that I used to adore. The world building was fascinating, and there is such a broad scope, between this mortal realm and the realm of the gods and what the enslaved gods are capable of. Also the city of sky, I would love to see this. I would love to walk around in it and marvel at it. It feels like a giant maze of possibilities and those are my favorite kinds of buildings.

The characters, that are not the MC, have a tendency to be morally reprehensible. I mean I really hated pretty much everyone. Even though I found the darkloard fascinating, I was screaming at our MC to back away, treat him like a rabid animal and get the hell out.

The plot is mostly the MC reacting to what is being thrust upon her. I don’t really find her very proactive. It’s like her whole life was pre-ordained by choices made before she was even born. She is living the consequences of her Mother’s choices.

By the end of the book, I’m not sure I want to continue with the series. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy myself, but it’s that the book gave me my favorite kind of ending. The kind where anything is possible and its up to the reader to imagine the happily ever after or complete and utter doom.

Overall, I definitely think this is a fascinating book for lovers of high fantasy. It is engaging and nuanced and has plenty of BIG stuff happening.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “The Hundres Thousand Kingdomes by N.K. Jemisin

  1. There’s no visual cues that there are two voices in the one head via the text. No italics or anything, just straight prose. A reader doesn’t figure it out until near the end, either, so don’t feel like you are missing out. 🙂

    1. Thank Goodness. I thought it was me and that I was slow. And then it made me rethink the entire novel and almost start over again to see how that realization would change my interpretation of the novel. Because I imagine it would.

Leave a Reply

