The Loyal Order of the Basset Hound

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-BanksThe Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another Audiobooks down. Booyakasha! Voice wise I didn’t really like this narrator. I felt either like I was being talked down to or they where trying to make there voice sound too young and I just wanted to slap them, because it kind of ruined some of the novel for me.

Thankfully the novel was good. Okay, so it might cater to some of my biases, for example, I adore the idea of secret societies. You top that off by naming your Secret Society after Basset Hounds, and this book is an instant win for me.

So Frankie is being treated like a little kid by her parents and is constantly be underestimated. Throughout the entire novel. Even by the end when she proves just how clever she is, they still insist on treating her like a child. It was so god damned frustrating, because it felt like a lack of an arc in there.

Frankie ends up taking over the secret society and having the boys do all of these political protests through pranks. Except they don’t know it’s her, because she does it by email and the address she uses looks like it could come from there leader. It is really brilliantly well done and I fully enjoyed all of the different pranks.

I was disappointed with the ending. Had all of the pranks been done by the Alpha dog he would have been heralded as brilliant, but because it was done by a girl, she was crazy for doing it. It was less. It was just so goddamned sexist and made me mad, and I was upset that the other characters didn’t see it, including the girls in her life, like her roommate and her sister. A guy does something stupid and he’s brilliant for it, a girl does the same thing and she’s stupid for it. Just stupid double standards.

The books is entertaining. I like Frankie. I’m just upset with everyone else. Also the Loyal Order of The Basset Hounds. I just can’t not like a book with a secret society named after my favorite kind of dogs.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

