A View from NaNoWriMo Day 8

A View from NaNoWriMo Day 8

The Plague hit me this week and turned me into a snot factory incapable of coherent thoughts to string sentences together. It was a messier more contaminated version of being drunk with a fever. I am at 7,809 words at I type this.

Sometime last night a friend texted me about taking on this other adventure while doing NaNoWriMo. My first assessment of the situation was if you are not going to succeed at it, then don’t bother. I am appalled at that reaction. It is a cowards reaction

Too often we look at challenges in life an think, it I’m not going to make it why bother? We as a society put so much value on success, that we forget that failing is not failing, it is learning. We should do a thing to learn it, and along that path of course we are going to make mistake, but those mistakes should not shackle us, but set us free.

I grew up in a household where I often heard the words learn from my mistakes, listen to me and do as I tell you because I am older and wiser and know better. This is of value to an extent, but at some point I need to go out and make my own mistakes and learn from those. And not view them as mistakes but learning experiences. We really need to shift of perspective here.

Weather or not you make 50K at the end of the month. Weather or not you hit the end, I hope that you learnt something about yourself this month. Above all else, that is what I wish for you. That this was a valuable experience, not because you won or lost, but because you tried. Because you pushed yourself, and you learnt something.

So I texted my friend back and said go for it. Do it. Learn!

So I texted my friend back and said go for it. Do it. Learn!

Leave a Reply

